We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great but take your pocket book.”

Half Shell Seafood House
Ranked #57 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Half Shell Oyster House has five locations. The first one opened in the summer of 2009 in Downtown Gulfport, MS and the second in Downtown Biloxi, MS. The charbroiled oysters are legendary and the atmosphere will make you feel like you've stepped back in time. Located in the historic Kremer building in downtown Gulfport, the "Half Shell" or "Oyster House," as locals have abbreviated it, serves the Southern delicacy freshly shucked on the half shell, charbroiled over an open flame, BBQ, Rockefeller and Bienville. We expanded to Florida in 2012 with the opening of our Sarasota, FL restaurant. Our fourth location has opened in Hattiesburg, MS. Our newest location is on the corner of I-65 and Airport Boulevard, at 3654 Airport Boulevard, Mobile, AL 36608. Our oysters are outstanding, but if you're not in the mood for oysters, Half Shell has a vast menu with something for everyone, lunch or dinner. Start your meal with New Orleans style BBQ Shrimp or a Seafood Stuffed Portabella. The Half Shell Salad with avocado, goat cheese and toasted almonds is great paired with a cup of gumbo. We feature daily and monthly specials utilizing locally caught fresh fish and seafood. The burgers, poboys and sandwiches are all good too. Or, try one of our steak or chicken creations like the Chicken Half Shell with Alfredo sauce, sundried tomatoes, capers and artichoke hearts. Seafood specialties include classic Shrimp and Grits and hearty Seafood Pot Pie. Whatever you choose, it'll be served with warm Southern hospitality in a unique atmosphere that complements the food. Exposed brick walls, wrought iron railings, unique French Quarter lighting and architecture frame the room. Each location offers a beautiful and unique setting for your dining experience. Each of our locations has semi private areas for your party or banquet needs. Or, just pull up a stool at the long copper bar, order a cold one and watch your oysters be grilled to perfection. For lunch, dinner or happy hour, Half Shell Oyster House is sure to soon be your old favorite.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food great but take your pocket book.”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Excellent oysters, went for lunch somewhat slow service outside, a bit pricey for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    112
    33
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“New Orleans in Florida”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our second visit, this time with kids. The oysters, raw, char-broiled and Rockefeller were a hit! Everybody just loved them. The fish, the shrimp, the fried okra were stupendous. Service has become a great deal more knowledgeable and efficient. A good value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goditolindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super atmosphere and awesome oysters”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Ordered the raw oysters that were out of this world and had the crab stuffed portabello mushroom entree and a special mediterranean seafood pasta dish that were very tasty. We would definitely come back again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota County Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply Incredible”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just dined here this memorial day weekend and let me say I was blown away! We had five appetizers and amber pecan ale and all we ate and drank was... no kidding...off the chart! After being greeted at the door we opted for a four seater high top table in the bar area. It was a good choice considering all the different plates we ordered. Our server Brittany was attentive and helpful because we asked for a sample of this ale and she took care of us quickly and cheerfully. Let me tell you about the food...the shucked oysters were heavenly...so fresh! The Royal Red Shrimp stole the show...they are quite rare...harvested from the Gulf and taste sweet and similar to lobster. We are not talking rock lobster or craw dads...these are shrimp that were to die for!! Simply steamed and not needing any sauces at all. We also had crab cakes with onion rings...different than the maryland style and the rings were hand dipped in a tasty panko type flake. The 2 other oyster dishes we had were...one char broiled and the other was with an interesting barbeque type sauce to compliment it. Both were to say the least...outragously delicious, Our last appe was their mussels special steamed and accompanied with an incredible light sauce with overtones of anise or fennel. Our meal ended with a shared bread pudding...not your typical starchy overportioned type but a delightful surprise you will have to try for yourself if you go. What an incredible find for two reasons...great food and great service. Very rarely are the stars aligned when it comes to well prepared food and great service at a fair price. This place has it all! When the manager Jerry asked us how it was...we could honestly say "Great"!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavendersunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely great”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have eaten at Biloxi and it was great, came here and it was excellent, service food and dessert was great. It's an hour drive from Maderia beach but worth it. You won't be disappointed. Tim

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timmac8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Seafood House also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Half Shell Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing