We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebrity cars”

Sarasota Classic Car Museum
Ranked #28 of 141 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The SCCM has over 100 antique, classic, vintage, collectible and rare cars on display.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Celebrity cars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We really liked looking at John Lennon's 2 BMW's and don't miss Katherine Hepburn's white Crown Victoria in the back corner of the back room. She wanted to avoid paparazzi and you will miss this car if you are looking for something fancy! Quite a variety of makes and models and years! Don't miss the Vintage Motor sales right around the corner of the same parking lot. It is free and you will see a great classic car dealership.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank linakaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    142
    53
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very fun experience primarily due to guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I visited the museum because he likes car museums and I always find something to see but our visit was really a highlight because of Chuck, our docent. He is a veritable encyclopedia of car knowledge with great stories about the develpers, history of the cars, and other details that you would never even think of knowing.
He also uses his voice to tell stories about owners and their cars--fun accents and intonations.
There is an interesting collection of all different types of classic cars--we especially enjoyed seeing those cars that didn't make it to production.
The price is very reasonable and in addition to the cars, there are other examples of memorabilia throughout the museum.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melaney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The museum with tribute concerts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Be sure to visit their website to see what tribute concert is coming up. It's true: Elvis is not dead. We've seen great tributes to Johnny Cash, Patsy Cline, the Beatles, Niel Diamond, Elvis, etc.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
474 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“Great selection and enthusiastic staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have visited the museum a few times previously but hadn't been in a while so we dropped by on New Years Eve. The staff on duty were very knowledgeable and keen to answer questions.

It would have been good to have more info on the cars in the back room however the gentleman on duty could tell us everything we wanted to know.

We also found that when you exit the museum if you turn left and go towards the rear of the building there is an area with classic cars for sale. This area does not require any admission fee and the staff there were more than happy for us to browse despite it being a sales showroom rather than a museum. There was a great selection here which kept us occupied for well over an hour alone.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wide range of vehicles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

A really great selection of vehicles maintained in superb condition.
Particularly like the Jaguars and MG's but many other fine examples!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank thompa124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarasota Classic Car Museum also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sarasota Classic Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing