We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for lunch downtown Sarasota”

Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.
Reserve with OpenTable
Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,055 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Central and Main
Description: A local eatery with a passion for stunning seafood, creative cocktails, fine wine, and service with style. Duval's uses the freshest product the market has to offer, sourcing the finest ingredients from local fisherman and farmers. Duval's offers free patron shuttle service, food delivery, and $5 Happy Hour 7 days a week.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Duval's was one of the restaurants participating in Savor Sarasota, with special 3 course lunches for $15.
I enjoyed their signature salad of mixed greens, tomatoes, cashew pieces, feta, and raspberry vinaigrette, and my friend said her gazpacho was very tasty. For my main course I had the fish tacos. The two were topped with a remoulade which was nice but not spicy enough for my taste. (the manager told me later that I should have requested some salsa on the side- which I will know to do next time). My friend liked her chicken po boy sandwich.
We both chose the key lime bar for dessert. It was rather like the pie but not so fluffy - maybe I would call it a tart. By whatever name, tasty. It was topped with toasted cocoanut, and an ample helping of whipped cream on the side.
This was our first time there. In addition to very good service, we both saw enough of interest on the regular menu to ensure that we will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beachqueen2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, Owner at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you had a terrific dining experience and can’t wait to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,054 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our first experience at Duval's was so good that it may have tainted expectations the second time, but our meal for five people last Wednesday night was very disappointing. The first time, about a month ago, was a special meal -- the service was incredible, the food was delicious and the portions were ample. Last Wednesday night everything flipped around: the service was less than average, the food was uninspired and the portions were tiny... like a typical foo-foo gourmet presentation of a little food with a drizzle of some liquid around it. Several people at our table complained they were still hungry. Come on, Duval's, don't overthink the gourmet/continental thing and you'll build a loyal clientele. Otherwise you'll be another here today, gone tomorrow restaurant in Sarasota.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, Owner at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Our sincere apologies for your unsatisfactory dining experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Please contact me personally to arrange your next visit. Regards, Joshua Halbrucker, info@duvalsneworldcafe.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Duval's is one of my favorite restaurants. The food is always the best in town. The staff is so kind and professional.

1  Thank Anna812Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, Owner at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! We always want our customers to have a terrific dining experience and are more than happy to go out of way to deliver just that. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Went with a friend for lunch. Great service. very good food but a little spendy. Was real slow when we were there so it would be a good place for a business meeting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, Owner at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re glad you enjoyed your dining experience and look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The food just was not good. I really wanted to love this place. It had a nice decor, excellent waiter and 2 on premise managers that were very attentive, but alas it all comes down to the food which although fresh was not enjoyable. Fix the food and you will have a great little eatery.

2  Thank TammyRowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, Owner at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Please accept our apologies for your unsatisfactory experience and we appreciate you taking time to leave a review. We hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Please contact me personally to arrange your next visit. Regards, Joshua Halbrucker, info@duvalsneworldcafe.com....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood. also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing