We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely with excellent service”

Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.
Reserve with OpenTable
Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,079 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Central and Main
Description: A local eatery with a passion for stunning seafood, creative cocktails, fine wine, and service with style. Duval's uses the freshest product the market has to offer, sourcing the finest ingredients from local fisherman and farmers. Duval's offers free patron shuttle service, food delivery, and $5 Happy Hour 7 days a week.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was a nice dining experience and we will return.
I like dining in a restaurant with tablecloths and cloth napkins and the decor was lovely.
Our waiter was Tyler; he was attentive and did know the menu.
There is a monitor placed in the dining room that shows the chefs and the food as it is being cooked.
I'm not so sure that's a positive as I saw part of my meal handled with bare hands(I'd rather see tongs used).
My husbands risotto was a little bit crunchy with too many scallions but overall meal tasty.
Will return with friends; hope to try the seafood chowder again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Honeybunny1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your review! Glad to hear you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. Tyler is a terrific server and he is thankful for your kind compliments. The entire team welcomes your return, thanks for noticing the tablecloths and cloth napkins!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,151 - 1,155 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

We live in the area but had never, for some reason, been to Duval's until my husband picked up a discount coupon, which we used tonight. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience from the moment we walked in the door until we staggered out, having eaten much more than we expected to. I had the special salad and the scallops on spinach. Both were superb, and not too heavy, as our waitress, Dylan, had said they would be. My husband had the gumbo which was great but filling, then the Duval's combo, which consisted of the same salad I'd had with a shrimp/crabcake on top. We loved all our food. I finished off with a cappuccino, and we shared a fabulous bread pudding. The food was fabulous. Dylan was extremely helpful giving us choices which were exactly what we wanted (not the most expensive item on the menu). We will go back--soon. This restaurant is within an easy walk of the opera house and most of downtown Sarasota's other attractions

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chesterlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

The combination of great food, décor and great service can truly lead to an excellent experience and we are glad you enjoyed everything. Thank you for taking your valuable time to leave a review; you made some fantastic choices with some of our signature dishes including the bread pudding, signature salad, crab & shrimp cakes, and gumbo. Dylan is thrilled to hear of your review, if you would like to request her upon your next experience, be sure to add to your reservation. If she is working that evening, she would be delighted to serve you again. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The small plate menu at lunch is delicious. One of the best meals we've had in Sarasota -- and this is our fourth year here for vacation. Get the oyster po boy for sure. Also, there is another menu that's kind of a Happy Hour. Very reasonable prices. You won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeffers1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your review! The small plates have been a great addition to the lunch menu and we are glad you like them! The baja fish tacos, Coco Beach Shrimp and Eggplant Rollatini provide delicious lunch options to keep your body fueled throughout the afternoon! The happy hour menu is a great option if you would like to enjoy a selection of the dinner menu options for $14.35! Happy hour menu is available from 3:30 - 5:30pm seven days a week. There are also $5 glasses of house Chardonnay and Cabernet Sauvignon. We greatly appreciate your time in leaving a review and look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We are from Washington, D.C. & this was our first visit to Duval's NWC. We enjoyed an excellent meal & Sarasota's colloquial charm--our server was Dylan, who knew the wine list & guided us through the menu with skill--a wonderful departure from stuffy deportment in an eloquent environment; the perfect combination. When you visit ask for Dylan for a delightful dining experience. Bravo DWC!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TERRYMGREEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Welcome to Sarasota! We are glad to hear you found us and enjoyed an excellent meal! Dylan is very thankful for your kind words and happy she could guide you to making a wonderful selection. Thank you very much for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again in the very near future! Call ahead or go online and request Dylan for your next reservation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We went for dinner and were extremely disappointed. We ordered a lobster appetizer in phyllo dough. $18 for 2 small pieces and NO lobster to be found. Then we had a scallop dinner special. Well, the scallops were not bay scallops but they were the smallest ocean scallops I have ever had, The sauce was good but nothing special. We won't be back,

Thank TeeandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Please accept our apologies for your disappointing experience. The Lobster en Phyllo is a combination of Maine lobster, goat cheese, pine nuts & fresh herbs baked in crisp flaky phyllo dough served over apple fennel salad. Please understand if you are ever unsatisfied with anything, please ask your server or for a manager to assist you. Our most important goal at Duval’s is to ensure your complete satisfaction.. Duval’s is responsible for your experience at our establishment. We would love the opportunity to provide you a meal you will enjoy!

If you have any more questions, comments or concerns, please reach out to info@duvalsnewworldcafe.com. Regards, Joshua Halbrucker, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood. also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing