We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great again”

Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.
Reserve with OpenTable
Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,144 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Central and Main
Description: A local eatery with a passion for stunning seafood, creative cocktails, fine wine, and service with style. Duval's uses the freshest product the market has to offer, sourcing the finest ingredients from local fisherman and farmers. Duval's offers free patron shuttle service, food delivery, and $5 Happy Hour 7 days a week.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Today we made another trip to Duval's(about an hour drive from our home) and again it was well worth the trip. Everything is super-fresh and prepared perfectly. The atmosphere is very warm and relaxing. The menu is extensive and special 3-course lunch and dinner menus are also available. We will definitely be making the trip again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HERBIETWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and willingness to travel to enjoy a meal at Duval’s! It is great to hear you enjoyed the menu selections and the Savor Sarasota 3 course offerings. The 3 course specials typically end on June 14th, but we are extending the prix fixe menu through the end of July if you want to come back for this spectacular deal! If you’d like to see the menu, visit our website and click on the menu tab. From there, select the Savor Sarasota tab on the top right where you can view three wonderful courses available for both lunch and dinner. If you happen to come back to Sarasota during the winter time, be sure to check out a performance at the Sarasota Opera after dinner! They have wonderful shows and Duval’s is just a block away from the Opera House. Thanks again for your pleasant review and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,321 - 1,325 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were a group of 12 and waited 45 minutes to have our orders taken. After another 30 minutes those who had ordered appetizers were served and the main dishes were brought to the table after another half hour. Wine was offered immediately, however,along with some bread to pass the time. Conversation was difficult because of the background noise.

My Caesar Salad with chicken was fine. My neighbor's filet mignon was undercooked and served lukewarm. This was the case with others who had ordered hot dishes.

I would be willing to give this restaurant another try. Their entrees looked enticing and if they can overcome the growing pains of getting food to the table while still hot and within a reasonable time, there should be no problems. Also,other than the 'house wine' the wine by the glass was quite pricey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stevie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your visit and review. Please accept our apologies for the wait time you encountered. Your feedback is valuable to us and we have taken your comments on board to improve. If there is anything else that can be done to make your next experience more pleasurable, please email info@duvalsnewworldcafe.com. Please accept our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had dinner at Duval's last night as part of Savour Sarasota. Easy to make reservations on Open Table. The restaurant was quite full upon arriving for our 8:15 reservation. We were greeted very warmly by the hostess and seated promptly. Our waiter Aaron was great from the start, as was the busboy. Another of the waiters delivered an impressive service of 5 or 6 plates on one arm. We stopped him to compliment him on his presentation and he was also quite pleasant and personable. The Savor Sarasota menu is a great deal at $29. for 3 courses. Wine was reasonably priced by the bottle and the Italian Pinot Grigio was quite good. We started with the French Quarter Gumbo an Coco Beach Shrimp. Gumbo was tasty with just enough spice and tons of andouille sausage. Shrimp were cooked perfectly inside and out and not to sweet. Unfortunately they were out of the Almond Crusted North Carolina Rainbow Trout which I was really looking forward to. Had the Filet Mignon and Tempura Gulf Shrimp. Filet was done perfectly and complimented with a nice mushroom gravy, mushroom risotto and veggie mix. Tempura Fish was tasty and not at all heavy on the breading. Fish came with sauteed veggies with a nice spicy sauce. Dessert was delicious flourless chocolate cake with a peanut butter whip. Decadently dense, rich and dark. I am not a dessert lover but this was delicious. Our other dessert choice was their bread pudding which is not traditional as it does not have rum or raisins in it. It's a homemade danish which is then crumbled and baked into a pudding. I am pretty traditonal southern girl and was honestly missing the rum. I did not eat all of the bread pudding and our waiter Aaron wanted to be sure we were happy so he sent another chocolate cake for us to take home! From beginning to end the service was warm and friendly and not too rushed. We are Sarasota locals and will definately be back to try more things on the menu; hopefully the Trout! Really great rainy evening out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scsunlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful words and review of Duval’s service and food. As a new addition to the dinner menu, the North Carolina River Trout has been a popular item. Upon your next dining experience, if you would like to ensure the Trout is available, please request a serving be saved for you when making your reservation! We do our best to satisfy customers and offer them a night of enjoyment in our restaurant. The concept is made up of food, service and ambiance. We are very pleased to hear we fulfilled your expectations. Please accept our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We chose Duval's because it was so highly rated. The good: the décor was very modern and well done, even in the bathrooms. The prices were average. The menu was varied.
They have a big flat screen showing the kitchen live which I have never seen before and was pretty cool. We arrived at noon on a Saturday and were seated within 3 minutes.
The bad: My wife ordered the lettuce wedge salad without the bacon and dressing on the side, and fish tacos with an included side of beans. Her salad arrived with bacon and dressing on it. The server took it back and replaced it within two minutes. Then my wife's entrée arrived and the soft tacos were burned black over about 30% of their surface. How long would it have taken for the cook to heat up two more tacos? I have worked in a kitchen and waited tables and there is no excuse for sending a plate out like this. Plus, she did not get her beans. Maybe the kitchen read "no bacon" as "no beans"? The guy in charge seemed to be keeping up with directing the staff and the help was pleasant. This is a relatively new restaurant and I chalk up our disappointing experience to growing pains. I would have no problem trying it again in a few months.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KurtSrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your visit and review. I am sorry to hear we did not completely fulfill your expectations. Please accept my apologies for the mistakes made with your meal. It is inexcusable. Please be assured your next meal at Duval’s will showcase our standards. The Duval’s staff and I look forward to providing you with an excellent experience on your next visit. Please let me know personally when you would like to visit Duval’s again. Joshua Halbrucker, GM of Duval’s New World Café (941.312.4001)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

From start to finish the food was wonderful. You won't find fresher seafood in Sarasota. There were 3 of us and each meal was better than the other. I can't wait to go back!

Thank corvete001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thanks for your great review. The seafood is so fresh you outta wear your swimsuit! In addition to the Costa Rican Swordfish, North Carolina River Trout & Loch Duart Scottish Salmon, we offer fresh locally caught gulf fish. Local fish are fileted in-house to ensure freshness. Please follow us on Facebook by searching for Duval’s New World Café. Fans of Duval’s have won over $150 in gift cards and bottles of wine! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood. also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing