We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost hits the mark...and they are working hard to hit it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duval's

Duval's
Reserve with OpenTable
Duval's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,029 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Central and Main
Description: A local eatery with a passion for stunning seafood, creative cocktails, fine wine, and service with style. Duval's uses the freshest product the market has to offer, sourcing the finest ingredients from local fisherman and farmers. Duval's offers free patron shuttle service, food delivery, and $5 Happy Hour 7 days a week.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost hits the mark...and they are working hard to hit it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The meal started out with a bang, but like a kid with their first sparkler, the fascination wears off as you realize there isnt more to it and the spark fizzles out. In all fairness tonight was the launch of a new menu, so the kinks are still getting worked out.
The gazpacho and gumbo were quite nice. Although the vegetables in the gazpacho were a little big to be authentic, the flavor was there - spicy with a good balance on the acid. The rue in the gumbo was well developed and the dish was polished while still making it the Cajun comfort food it is.
After that the food began to fizzle. I had crab and shrimp cakes which are served on top of loose mashed potatoes and topped with and apple and fennel salad. The salad was fresh and the flavors good, but this is where it starts to come apart. First, fresh greens wilt quickly and turn to mush when hot, and I am not fond of wilted salad. Especially micro greens. Second, it was difficult to discern where the cakes ended and the mashed potatoes began. There was basically no textural difference between the two. Though the flavors were fairly well developed, by halfway through the texture of the dish just became too much like baby food to finish.
My husband had the Tempting Tempura - a mix of Gulf seafood. The fish was a bit overcooked as were the stringed vegetables which congealed into a rather unappealing pile. To the credit of the restaurant and the server, mashed potatoes were brought out for no additional cost.
Overall we concluded we would come back and give the place a second try after they have had some time to tweak things. For a first night being just off the mark is doing pretty good in this business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rovingfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and your remarks. In addition to the Gumbo and Gazpacho you enjoyed so much, two delicious soups are now offered daily including a Lobster Bisque and the Red, White, & Bleu, a creamy tomato bleu cheese soup. Please accept our apologies for the dishes you did not enjoy. We will learn from your remarks and make changes accordingly. Please be assured you will have an amazing dinner upon your next dining experience! The Scallops Rockefeller is a guest favorite in addition to the Amandine North Carolina River Trout. Please email info@duvalsnewworldcafe.com with any other questions, comments or concerns and thank you again for giving us the opportunity to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    196
    81
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
190 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was late and we were very hungry. Walked right in and got a table. The restaurant is very nice looking and cozy. The service was excellent and we had the garlic shrimp with pasta and ordered a side of creamed tomato, artichoke and spinach which was superb! The danish bread pudding was very light and an excellent ending to a great meal. Would definitely recommend for good food and excellent service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank denitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It is an honor to satisfy a world traveler. Thank you for your visit and glowing review. Thank you also for pointing out our bread pudding, a local favorite. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are in town! Best regards from Duval’s in Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wow, wow, wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was my third experience with Duval's NW Cafe. I have had the Mussels over linguini as a late night last minute stop-off for dinner. My friend and I stopped at the small bar and the staff couldn't be more accomodating. Excellent flavor and portions as well as service. My last experience was pre-theater with 3 friends and we were raving over the meal. We all ordered the various fish dishes and we were "wow-ed"!!! The sides were just as interesting and flavorful as the main dish. I can assure you that the fish dishes (I have not ordered any of the meat entrees so cannot comment) are fresh and flavorful. The prices are fair for the quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your fine review of Duval’s! It was an honor indeed that you choose Duval’s on three separate occasions! Sneak preview… There will be some new items added to the dinner menu the first week of June! Be sure to stop in and try the Kickin’ Cajun Ahi Tuna, the North Carolina Amandine River Trout or the Chicken Calasetta. You will just have to keep coming back to try all the dishes… Please accept our best regards. We look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A First Rate Dining Experience in a Vibrant Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Duval's is a fairly new addition to down town Sarasota's restaurant row, and what a fabulous addition it is! As we walked to our car after dinner last night, my husband and I remarked that we were reminded of certain sections of NYC where we often went to eat during our courtship years growing up in NJ. The streets were filled with fashionable people; the air sang with music from restaurants and bars; and we had the happiness one gets after fine dining. The food is superb and beautifully presented. Our server was enthusiastic, helpful, pleasant and professional. At the back of the room was a large, flat screen TV streaming live from the kitchen. Clever and interesting. We highly recommend Duval's for fresh fish served with interesting and delicious sauces and sides.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your visit and the description of your experience. It is a joy to hear Sarasota and Duval’s offered memories reminding you of good days gone by. Downtown Sarasota truly does have a wonderful vibe at night and a glass of wine with a deliciously prepared meal can lead to an excellent experience in this magnificent area. Your comments encourage the Duval’s team to continue what we are doing. I hope we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place for Foodies to visit in Sarasota”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was my second visit to Duval's and my first visit for dinner. I had the Vegetable Spring Roll appetizer, Caesar salad and the Sauteed Scallops Rockefeller with Risotto. The scallops were truly amazing and I highly recommend them! The staff was very friendly and attentive. I will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuvalsNewWorldCafe, General Manager at Duval's, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and fine rating! Perhaps you should complete the Duval’s experience! If you have joined Duval’s for lunch, we invite you to Sunday brunch featuring delicious Eggs Florentine, bacon, eggs, sausage, crab cakes, seasonal selections, house prepared pastries, desserts in addition to an all you can drink mimosa enhancement for $15! It will always be a pleasure welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duval's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Duval's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing