We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Mexican on the beach”
Review of La Malinche - CLOSED

La Malinche
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Traditional Mexican on the beach”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Located off St. Armands Circle, parking can be a bit difficult when things are busy. The food is advertised as traditional Mexican; my wife and I took advantage of a 2-for-1 enchilada special, which we were happy with. She had the suiza, while I had a mole enchilada, both of which came with white rice. The chicken was obviously cooked in-house (not out of a can) and everything well prepared. Chips and salsa (also made in-house) were not gratis, but were reasonable and very tasty, different from most Tex-Mex places we're used to. There's a bar in the restaurant as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CheckMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    45
    40
    34
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We do believe to have had dinner in the best Mexican restaurant in Sarasota. Do not forget to try the Molcajete with black beans. You will be positive impressed for sure !!!

Helpful?
Thank Sannaweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Way over priced for service and less than mediocre food”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

My title says it all...
$20 for a cheese quesadilla. $2.95 for chips and dip. The food was less than desirable and there service was just awful. One person ordered a taco salad that was served with a Greek vinegarette. When the server ask how everything was the person who had the salad told the server it wasn't very good and the server said ok and promptly turned and left. There was one server standing at the front door having a smoke break. It seemed like it was more of a social hour for the staff rather than work. I don't mind an expensive meal if the food is worth it. We should have taken it as clue that there was 2 other tables there at 8 pm on a Saturday. Do not visit this restaurant!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Lynseylou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“"inche" should be removed from the name”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The experience is just bad all around. We waited way too long to give our order, to get our food and even to pay. We had to ask for silverware after food was on the table for several minutes. Later we had to hunt someone down to pay our bill after sitting with the check for 20 minutes. The place was no where near busy. We expected to be eating something delicious after seeing the prices and waiting so long for our dinners, but the food was incredibly bland and over cooked. Mine was just plain gross! We ordered 3 entres, 1 guacamole, and 1 iced tea. Our bill was over $100. The waiter's demeanor was extremely off-putting overall. But my $30 dinner almost came back up when he set another table's nasty, dirty dishes down right under our faces while asking us if we wanted anything else. DISGUSTING!! La Malinche is just Mal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DinesOutA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pricey and hurried”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We have been staying in Lido Beach for a couple of days and are fond of Mexican food. We entered the restaurant and were told to sit where we wanted. 8pm and we were nearly the only guests. Should have taken heed. We hurriedly ordered our meal. I ordered the all you can eat tacos and had to order all I wanted straight away as the kitchen was closing. The food tasted half decent apart from the chicken which had a strange tang that you might associate with past it's best, perhaps.
Priciest meal we have had since we have been in the Sarasota area and certainly not worth it.
Very shortly after we started eating the kitchen was closed and the staff set about tidying up; spraying and wing down the bar top, stacking chairs and generally making us feel that we were in the way, this was about 9pm.
Would not return or recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Malinche also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing