We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful beach vacation ay the Limetree Beach Resort - Lido Key” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Limetree Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Limetree Beach Resort
Carlinville, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach vacation ay the Limetree Beach Resort - Lido Key”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Limetree Beach Resort on Lido Key from August 2-9, 2014. We made our reservation through RCI as a timeshare exchange. We had a wonderful week and highly recommend this resort. The location is on beautiful Lido Key and the resort offered everything we needed for a great vacation - perfect location - pool and hot tub - beach just steps away. The staff was excellent and check-in and out was quick and simple.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Been going there for twenty years. If it weren't for the fact it is right on the beach I would consider finding another vacation rental. The place needs some major updating from some professionals. It could be cleaner upon check in and the bedding could be more comfortable. If it were not for the full time staff (who are exceptional) this might have been a bad experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Gulf are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

For 27 years Limetree has been our only family vacation spot. Excellent location, staff and facilities for a relaxing experience on the west coast of FL. Timeshare units provide full accommodations for families without being cost prohibited. Located right on the beach convenient to shopping & restaurants without all the noise of amusement parks. It is the best! Rick

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Limetree Resort saved my husband and me from what would have been a very bad vacation experience. I am a true TripAdvisor user/follower. I will not book a hotel reservation before I read its reviews on this site. That being said, I made a 3-night reservation at a hotel on the beach in Lido Key based on TA reviews. It was a clear mistake--the first time this has happened to me. On further investigation, there were some very negative reviews which I apparently didn't read. Pulling into this other property, I could have cried. It was definitely not what I wanted for my vacation hotel--very old outdated, rusty,etc .It looked nothing like its web photos. My husband went next door (The Limetree) and lucky for us, they had a 3 night room/condo available. We were able to get out of our reservation at said unacceptable place, and we moved into the Limetree. What a beautiful place! The Limetree is a resort property in which each of the condos is owned by individuals. The units rent for the week (Saturday-Saturday), so we were fortunate to have one available Wed-Sat. I have nothing negative to say about the Limetree. The employees were so nice and accommodating. I noticed a TA review stating that the man who pulls out the beach chairs was rude, however, that man isn't employed by the Limetree. He is a business person who rents beach chairs and umbrellas to anyone (not just Limetree guests) who wants one. The grounds were beautifully manicured, the pool was great, and our condo was beautifully furnished. We had a great view of the pool and beach/Gulf from our balcony. The lawn chairs looked new-so different from the place next door. The resort is built in a "U" shape, and inside, along with the pool and tables, there's a gathering place for people to visit/mingle. Cooking grills are available. This is a great place for families.. We loved the Limetree Resort and will definitely stay there again when we're in Sarasota.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhawksherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have been coming to the limetree for years now and it never disappoints. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the place is really well run. Units are very good. The location is brilliant . It is right on the beach and you can walk to st armands circle for eats or an ice cream. There are bikes, tennis and shuffleboard leisure activities.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Memaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a week at the resort in one of the central court apartments. The room had a magnificent sea view. The apartment itself was well equipped although furniture was slightly dated. Staff were great and facilities were good. They have a free self service & drying facility, small gym, and a nice swimming pool . You can walk directly on to the beach and the sea turtles lay their eggs there. We also saw manatee further along the beach. The beach itself is relatively small, however wasn't over crowded. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sd1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Recently returned from our first stay at Limetree Beach Resort and was very pleased with everything. The management, housekeeping and grounds staff do a wonderful job keeping this resort pristine. When we first arrived we had trouble with our key not working like it should and once we reported it to management they sent someone immediately to correct it. He replaced it with a brand new lock cylinder and never had any trouble afterwards. We have been coming to Lido Beach for about 6 years or so and had stayed at several places but have now found our perfect place on the Key. We were pleased how meticulously the resort is maintained. It was extremely quiet especially during the night which is a BIG plus! Our unit was very nice, clean, spacious and fully equipped for the week. There is even a small safe for your valuables. Actually, not having daily maid service was great because we could sleep as late as we wanted without having the worry to be out of the room by a certain time frame. I highly recommend this resort and plan to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 48 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 48 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limetree Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limetree Beach Resort

Property: Limetree Beach Resort
Address: 1050 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2299
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Number of rooms: 67

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing