We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful Place on Beautiful Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limetree Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Limetree Beach Resort
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place on Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is an absolutly wonderful beach resort. Its located in the perfect spot. It has a very friendly staff. Tennis Courts, basketball hoop, shuffle board, bikes and cabana rentals on the beach. Great pool with lots of lounge area and chairs. The rooms are great and beachy feeling with a nice kitchen area and also pleasent sitting area right outside your door. Quieter location and gorgeous sand. Its one of my favorite places to go, I have been going for years now and always look forward to going back. Also located very close to St. Armands Circle easy to walk to with lots of great shops,resturants and local gems.

Room Tip: Rooms middle to closest to the beach have the best view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank degrandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OCALA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

i love limetree and plan to go back. i prefer a small quiet place and love it if it's right on the beach and this resort is exactly that. the place was clean and the staff was friendly. the location is great, it's near great restaurants, museums etc. but still private and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank samdgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We've been to the Limtree Beach Resort annually for the past 4 years. My parents were initially recommeded to this hotel by their friends who loved it, my parents subsequently stayed at the hotel and loved it as well. My husband, two children and I visited this hotel several times over the last few years - on several ocassions, my parents would join along. The view from a golf front rooms are second to none - especially the gorgeous sunsets. Everyone from the hotel tends to gather by the beach to watch together as the sun goes down, and bongo drums are played in the distance, making the whole experience quite nostalgic. As for the hotel rooms - they are roomy and comfortable. We love having a full kitchen in our 1 bedroom suite, which allows us to cook breakfast, lunch and snacks. The hotel also provides several propane bbq's which allows for delicious steak, chicken and seafood cookouts right on the golf of mexico. The pool is kept very clean and never overcrowded. The clientel are seniors and family and folks to chat with comes easy. Every Tuesday night, the hotel brings in a band, who interacts with the guests. Guests can dance, sing, play the bongos amd shakers, or just sit back, relax and enjoy the show. We always look forward to Tuesday nights. The staff at Limetree are incredibly attentive as well, and respond to any queries promptly. The hotel is also located a 15 minute walk, or 5 minute drive-trolley ride to St. Armands Circle where gorgeous shops and cafe's line the streets. Also nearby, on Longboat Key, is the Aquarium - perfect for the whole family, with the chance to pet the stingrays, visit with dolphins, sharks and manatee. If you are looking for a low key, but fun beach vacation at your doorstep - Limetree is where to be. Thanks Limetree!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Elysheva28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is our 4th year staying at Limetree and it feels as comfortable as an old shoe. The staff and management go out of the way to make one feel comfortable and welcome, even to providing free morning newspapers and the use of a computer and printer in the office. Wireless signal in unit can be slow. Each unit has 1 or 2 bedrooms, 1 or 2 baths, and all face heated super clean swimming pool. The superfine gulf white sand makes great walking. Sunsets are superb over the ocean. Most people love the guest who plays a daily sunset trumpet tribute from the upper balcony, I happen to find it annoying. Limetree is constantly being cleaned and painted and upgraded, unit by unit. Rentals are usually by the week with the occaisonal 3 day fill in when available. Units are family friendly, over all age up there with the some kids and young couple sprinkled in. The location of Limetree is great with St Armands circle offering great shopsand restaurants just a few blocks away. Public parks are within walking distance and bikes are provided if you want them.
Overall, very comfortable and safe place to stay.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Dianne1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We went to this resort via an exchange at Interval International. Exchanges in and around Sarasota are few and far between. We love Longboat Key and when we had the opportunity to go to LimeTree and stay on Lido Beach, we jumped at it. We were on the second floor, looking out over the beach and Gulf of Mexico. We had a seating area right outside our front door and could see from the kitchen out to the beach. We could walk the length of Lido Beach (from the public beach on the north to the pass at the park on the south end). The sand was very nice to walk on (white, sugar sand). A frontal passage one night brought in an abundance of sea shells.

The pool was very clean and had loads of lounge chairs and tables. The resort provided musical entertainment one night and a "cook out" another night. They also have an activity center with a ping pong table for those rainy days. They provide free washers and dryers for their guests. We were able to check out bicycles and ride around the island.

Staff members are very friendly and will readily help you find nearby stores and attractions. All in all, a great week at the beach.

Room Tip: The resort is horseshoe shaped. The rooms in the curve look out over the pool. The rooms at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MangoRita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#4 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,569 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#9 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limetree Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limetree Beach Resort

Property: Limetree Beach Resort
Address: 1050 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Number of rooms: 67

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing