We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been five stars but...”
Review of Toasted Mango

Toasted Mango
Ranked #20 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Breakfast and lunch cafe.
maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Would have been five stars but...”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed right down the road and heard how great the breakfast was at the Toasted Mango. It was incredibly busy but we got seated right away outside. The staff was helpful enough except for one waitress.
There were 3 of us and my husband and daughters food was brought right out with me being told that mine would be out shortly after. 20 mins, 2 complaints, and with my family all being do eating I finally got my food. This is why I can't give five stars but the food was absolutely delicious and they did a nice job of service recovery. I would go back again

Helpful?
Thank tinyrucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    224
    49
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not bad but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The wait was really long and we were pressed for time so we got our food to go. While we were waiting for our food, we noticed that the line went really fast so the turnover is quite impressive. Don't be intimidated if there is a long waiting list, in other words, if you have time. I got the crab salad sandwich with fries and it was good. I'm not sure it was $10 good but I enjoyed the sandwich and the fries were better than average. My brother got this turkey-mango wrap and he thought it was good. The only problem was that since we were in a hurry, we just grabbed our food and left and afterwards, realized that his mango sauce wasn't in the bag. Sort of our fault for not checking everything before we left. The homemade chips were good.

I think the experience of eating in the restaurant would have maybe been worth the higher prices. My recommendation is to go when you have time and can sit and hang. It is that type of place.

Good place overall.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaenhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville, ontario
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“delicious fun experience”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

we ate brunch here after the Sarasota half marathon. despite being a very busy day service was excellent. The food was delicious! mango mimosa's are fantastic...going back just for another one.

definitely recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winneconne, Wi
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast/Brunch”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Three of us from Wisconsin ate at the Toasted Mango twice while vacationing in Sarasota. We were more than pleased with the food and service. This café is very busy, but the waiting list is handled efficiently and the food is served very promptly. The three guys in the kitchen work very well together--with smiles on their faces!!

I had the scrambled egg sandwich both times which was served with a fruit dish with strawberries, melon, and grapes--all very fresh. The girls with me had the Belgian waffles and blackened chicken salad. The waffles were a light as a feather and the chicken salad was presented like a picture from a recipe book and tasted fantastic!!

We will return to this restaurant when we're in Sarasota again!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dick_WinneconneWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, oh
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast with friendly staff”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Wide choices for breakfast at this friendly, informal eatery. Clearly a popular and well-regarded restaurant that offers breakfast and lunch. Overall, a satisfying experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkfcleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toasted Mango also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Toasted Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing