We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indigenous

Indigenous
Ranked #24 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Beautiful remodeled old Florida cracker cottages, with an amazing outdoor seating area.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We wandered into indigenous restaurant early and got the last seat not reserved. We had a moderate priced bottle of very good bubbly and a fantastic appetizer. We both selected the vegetarian garden special (different each day) and it was wonderful. The service was impeccable and the setting outside on this beautiful spring evening a delight. We plan to return soon and are recommending it to our friends!

This restaurant is a little hard to find but worth the search. In season you will want a reservation to assure you get a seat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MercatorSarasotaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    81
    31
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing creations with local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Found this on trip advisor and was not disappointed. Food was creative and fresh. All local and sustainable. Will definately be back when we visit again!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stopped by here for an early dinner on the advice of fellow Tripadvisor travelers and it was great. The mushroom soup was so ood I wanted a gallon. Very friendly and efficient staff. Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SheWhoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Everything was perfect for dinner! Starting with our server being very informative and going into details about their different wines to describing each dish that we had any questions about. We had a great time and plan to come back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridawalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent and so was the service. This was our first time and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doxi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigenous also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Indigenous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing