We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ridiculously good1”

Piccolo Italian Market & Deli
Ranked #50 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It is a market and a deli, with superb home-made food and a cafe serving gourmet sandwiches, fresh pizza, Deli Meat & Cheeses Imported and Domestic and a full line of Italian Groceries. And not to mention our own Homemade Sausage made daily.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ridiculously good1”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have eaten Italian Beef sandwiches for years, and in probably more than a dozen cities. The Italian Beef sandwich here is the best, most authentic of any I have ever had. Friendly staff, reasonable prices, just loved everything.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank canonedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    17
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sorry not the real thing”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place was horrendous I walked in an though wow boars head cold cuts and they have pastoral ravioli like wow must be great... I order my sandwich I have two slices of ham on it lol it was more like a cheese sandwich. Wife had salami same thing two slices of salami. This is not how it's done in NY.... The place is clean and the people are nice but I did not like that the sandwiches were like that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, PA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The REAL thing...”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I'm Italian, from the Philly-New York area, and have lived in Italy...
Most Italian places in FL are a joke, but not Piccolo.
REALLY Italian. REALLY owned and operated by a wonderful Italian family from New York.
Piccolo and Panificio are the only decent Italian places I've found in Sarasota, and Piccolo is the best. TOP QUALITY.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bimmerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford new york
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Italian food and cold cuts”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I'm here on vacation from NY and had their mozzarella it was fantastic. Just like home. When visiting Sarasota you must try this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank santinobread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARASOTA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Real Deal!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Famiiy owned and operated (which helps explain the sometimes chaotic nature of the experience), this is THE place to purchase one's Italian staples. We are Italian-Americans and cook at home 25 of 30 nights a month. This is our Italian supply post. Their cooked food is awesome too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul2uuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Italian Market & Deli also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Piccolo Italian Market & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing