We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made my day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simon's Coffee House

Simon's Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 35 Coffee & Tea in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available
Description: Family run local business. Creative dining with six soups each day and many daily specials. We have vegan and vegetarian dishes and include many great meat dishes too. Our meats are roasted in house and we make our salad dressings . We have vegetables delivered daily and make many healthy juices, smoothies and now have kombucha on draft
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Made my day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I got off the highway to find a great cup of coffee, consulted Trip Advisor, turned around to look for Simon's. So glad I backtracked to find it and would never have found it without the address. The atmosphere is instantly friendly and an immediate sense of great food and coffee overwhelmed me. So much so, that I sat and had lunch (best lentil soup I've ever had and homemade excellent quiche) and then ordered dinner to go. The cafe was full to capacity with locals, always a good sign and one of them told me to make sure to get a brownie for dessert. Excellent food, coffee, baked goods and happy intelligent people. Lots of local non vegie and vegetarian/ vegan choices. The experience made my day!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TarisVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    42
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Healthy, Hearty, and Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Simon's has been a favorite for years and it never disappoints! There is a large selection of very tasty food - from outstanding, hearty soups to unbelievably good desserts (try the rhubarb pie!). They offer something for everyone. GO! You will enjoy it. (We wish they would return to serving evening meals).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachlover246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Got to go !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The best lunch in Sarasota! Must go for the chicken salad wrap. OR the numerous other specials that the chef prepares. Simon's is a must in Sarasota! Can't say enough good things. Lunch can be crowded, so go earlier than noon or later than 1pm. Tucked away on US 41, but not hard to get to, and plenty of parking. Go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank camer-always-aready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
206 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great service, lots of choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Met friends here for a late lunch (1:30pm) and enjoyed everything! Had the pressed apple lemonade to drink along with a half a panini and black bean soup with toppings. Very filling, everything fresh and well seasoned. It's a tiny place next to a Yoga studio in a strip mall but plenty of parking. They were doing a brisk take out as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You'd Never Know!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hidden in a strip mall along busy Rt.41, is Simon't Coffee House. WHAT A FIND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Everything is delicious, the staff super friendly, the menu extensive and varied, and it's a hot spot!!!
I had a very early meeting in Sarasota and was very hungry on my way back to Siesta Key. I pulled into this strip mall, because of a large sign that said BREAD. It had nothing to do with Simon's, but I'm glad I stopped. I'm guessing the locals know all about this gem and want to keep it that way. Maybe the owners do too, and that's why their sign is so unremarkable and bland.
Ignore the sign and GO!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Porchview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon K, Owner at Simon's Coffee House, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We would like to thank you for the review. It is always great to hear we are working towards our customers really enjoying not only the food but the experience as a whole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon's Coffee House also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Simon's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing