We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, terrific owner”

Ooh La La French Bakery
Ranked #10 of 25 Bakeries in Sarasota
Cuisines: French, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, terrific owner”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I just discovered this lovely little restaurant and can't believe how charming and wonderful it is. The food is delicious. I adore the quiche; the chocolate croissants are heavenly, the sandwiches are excellent. The owner is a doll, who is gracious and warm in addition to being a fabulous baker. I go back all the time and love it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    12
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“THE BEST OF THE BEST!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The best bakery in all of Sarasota!!! Fresh items everyday,the bread is to die for and so are the sandwiches......................... The passion fruit cake is amazing! We know do have a real bakery in Sarasota!!! thank you Ooh La La!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tictac14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
423 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Absolute French Find!”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

First and foremost this is a bakery of superb quality. However it has four tables for dining in, serving the day's special offerings such as a variety of quiches - mouth watering good! The bakery products are so good as to entice customers to come back even when are not necessarily shpping for baked goods. The place is authentic French and has the feel of an old Parisian bistro. You cannot get your morning off to a better start than to have Therese prepare a croissant or slice of baguette and cheese with your coffee. She will prepare a special lunch for you ahead of time with a day's notice. We had the best Croque Monsieur this side of Paris on just such an occasion. Bon!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DocSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“ooh la la”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is a much needed bakery in the area, and the owner is nothing short of lovely and studied under some terrific french pastry chefs. The store is very well stocked with an array of wonderful things, some better than others. The cake slices (genoise) whether chocolate or yellow are not dense enough, the filled croissants are a delight and some of the other specialty pastrys and their respective fillings are very good. I have not tried the bread as yet. I think the prices, in comparison to C'est la Vie (which is unbeleivablely fabulous), are high. I will continue to support this bakery as it can only get better.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VBRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“C'est Magnifique!”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Croissants, baguettes, quiche and pastries but Ooh La La what pastries! Where to start? The custard fruit tartlets made with a firm shell then filled with a wonderful fresh custard topped by fruit--raspberries, blueberries, kiwi--so fresh it tastes as if it were picked that morning. Quiche with a flaky crust and so mouth watering that you are forced to eat it slowly and savor every mouthful. And the croissants are so light and buttery I am surprised they aren't floating in the display case. And when you see the array of choices in the display case you won't know which item to point a first. The owner is a transplant from France and Sarasota must be favored to have gained her talents. Be warned, once you enter Ohh La La you will return and return and return. I have not tasted bakery items this fresh outside of France. This may be the first review but watch how fast they pour in once visitors become daily clients. I know after my first visit I was back the next day. Just visit their website for some motivation: http://www.gulfgate.biz/MallDrive/OohLaLaFrenchBakery.aspx

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank pensman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ooh La La French Bakery also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ooh La La French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing