We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Manager fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Preston, lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Manager fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We visited for 12 nights in July . On arrival we were a little disappointed that the club room we usually upgrade to was now £100 extra per night and that there was now a 'resort fee' of $24 per day, any way we love the hotel and club level so we just agreed and went for a drink in the club bar. Very shortly we were greeted by Damian the manager who asked us if we were happy with everything, after some fact finding by Damian we were looked after unbelievably well even to the point that our little girl was invited twice to the hotel kitchen to bake her own designer cookies ( thanks lynsey) which were then delivered to our room as a surprise. The new restaurant Jack Dusty is a great addition and the hotel in general is much less stuffy however still keeps a first class feel. Thanks once again Damian and all the team, special thanks to Mirza in club who gave us a few fishing tips and was a genuine nice guy, well done all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etoetoeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    355
    144
    61
    46
See reviews for
441
638
34
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We will shortly be making our third visit in three years. Fabulous hotel, great service from friendly courteous staff and in Sarasota ! Three out of three can't be bad. William & Margaret, London, England

Room Tip: Marina view 3rdfloor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times, but I must say that this visit was better than all those in the past.
It is clearly apparent that the staff have really stepped it up. The service has been excellent, from the restaurants to the car valets, they are all very friendly and cannot be more helpful. The concierge could not have done more for us, even for the most minor request. Epitomizing this brilliant service was Emily, the lady doing turn down service. She learned that we liked the chocolate left on the pillow and each night after that she would leave a heart or another pattern of chocolates on the bed with lovely personalized notes.
This is a first class hotel with a great gym and spa, and an amazing pool and beach club. A great vacation hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is the most expensive property in the Sarasota area. While the service is good (not great), the rooms are seriously in need of renovation. While not quite shabby, they are clearly dated, both in terms of their decor and their technology.

However, the biggest problem is food service. Like many of today's hotels, it has only one restaurant, Jack Dusty. While this restaurant has decent service and good food, it is used as a bar, an event venue, and tries to please everybody from kids who want a hot dog to individuals who would like to have a quiet dinner. It does not work!

We had business guests on one evening. Even though we changed tables twice, we were unable to carry on a conversation in a normal level of voice.

We are returning to Sarasota on business next week. We will not consider staying at this property again.

Room Tip: If you would like to have a quiet dinner in your hotel, stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank byrddawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien O, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Byrddawg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. I am very sorry to hear that our facilities and your dining experience did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is a valuable tool so we can avoid any recurrence and to that end, if you can afford the time, please feel free to contact me directly at your convenience at 941-309-2001 as I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further.

Best wishes,
Damien O’Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

What a great 3 day vacation. The hotel was beautiful with service that cannot be beat. The staff treated us like we were family---even remembering us by name. The rooms were nicely appointed and had great views from the terrace. I usually don't eat meals in hotels and go to local restaurants. I did both on this trip and can say that their food was fabulous as was their service. Jack Dusty's Restaurant at the Ritz should not be missed.The fresh fish was incredible as were their crab cakes, and handcrafted cocktails. make sure you ask to have the plantain chips with your cocktail.
One evening they had baby lamb chops served in the lobby just because that's what they do at the Ritz!
One morning when we were just having coffee, the server at the coffee bar overheard me say, I just need a bite of something to take my pills. I did not want breakfast, a muffin or roll because I was going to have an early lunch. I was shocked when he brought over a small dish of oatmeal for me at no charge.... Now that is service!!!!!!
I will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Living in Florida on the east coast, sometimes you just want to get away in the summer - but island getaways for us are not appealing when you live in the tropics 365 days a year - but a quick drive to the west coast of the state takes you far enough away without the hassle and just enough relaxation to say that you got away. The Ritz Carlton generally never fails to deliver and this property truly delivers! The staff is truly amazing - extremely friendly, very personable, know your name after first day, and will do almost anything for you. We had upper floor room with club level access which is great when you have 2 younger kids. None of us are huge eaters, so its perfect for us and the Club staff is extraordinary. The hotel has a private beach club that is about 3 miles away - they have a shuttle that leaves on the hour - you cannot ask for a more pristine setting to relax. This is a property that you cant miss

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

if you ever hit Disney you will need to get away from it all for a few days. two hours drive away is Sarasota and the Ritz Carlton. The Ritz never fails to deliver and the Ritz in Sarasota delivers in spades. Staff are, as ever, excellent and helpful. The hotel has its own beach club and courtesy hotel bus to get you there, The beach club offers pools, restaurants and a stunning beach location......where if you are lucky dolphins will swim just a few yards from you as you enjoy a dip. The beach club is a great spot for sunsets too. Back at the hotel the rooms are excellent with marble bathrooms and those perfect Ritz beds. I had two suites - go for those facing the water!!!

Sarasota downtown is on your doorstep too - - so if you want a change of scenery you can get it fast and easy

My advice - go, stay, enjoy and go back again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfulli007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 48 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 48 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#15 of 48 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Address: 1111 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing