We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first time experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great first time experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Truly had a wonderful stay at the Sarasota Ritz. First time staying at this Ritz, have stayed at the Naples Beach Ritz often. We enjoyed the beach club, was great to go from beach to pool and back again with minimal effort!! The servers were all wonderful, Zach and Don especially were very quick to accommodate and really aimed to please. One day was crowded and food took a little longer but they were very good about letting you know they hadn't forgotten about you! We also enjoyed the pool at the hotel, was also very happy with staff. We stayed on club level and our family loved having all the extras that had to offer. Both Michella and Justin were very friendly and made everyone feel comfortable. We are already talking about maybe going back for Spring Break!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atlanta47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    373
    160
    65
    47
See reviews for
498
722
40
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Huge thanks to Justin and Bryan at the club level, they went above and beyond with their professionalism and attention to detail. I'd be remiss to not mention a massive thank you to my better half, as she was the one who coordinated with these to gentleman to make my particular day even more special then ever. Normally I don't do resort restaurants but Jack Dusty blew me away with a private fire side, bay view table with a personalized dessert again with a total team effort from the gentleman on 8th floor..thanks again and a special nod of appreciation to everyone at the beach club, absolutely would return again and again and again. Great job RC Sarasota!!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I've been to this Ritz numerous times, and sadly, service and the facility has really gone downhill over the past few years. I stayed here for my birthday this past visit, on the Club Level (food and drinks for most of the day included), as I usually do, and was just beyond disappointed overall. The once friendly concierges in the Club were all replaced by younger, less experienced and mostly rude kids. The Manager was also new, and while somewhat helpful, was very hard to find. The quality of food and drinks has also very much gone downhill, as have the offerings. I know this may sound like a harsh review, but for $400-$500 a night, I was expecting the usual over-the-top service (part of the reason the Ritz Carltons are so special). Rooms were badly in need of new linens/towels and a good cleaning or repainting. The Beach Club was nice, but again, the service has truly gone downhill there as well. I wanted so badly to give them 4 or 5 stars, but this stay was just not up to par. Not worth the money, or even half what I paid to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygirl0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Sarasota Ritz is very nice. The staff are exception and very helpful. The location is interesting however, since it is on the edge of the city. However, they do have a shuttle which takes you to the amazing Beach Club. Yet the shuttle is not frequent or reliable from our experience, thus is you have your own car, even better. The Ritz is close to St. Armand's Circle (just over the Ringling Bridge) which is a delight for shopping and eating (drinking too!).

We stayed twice this year, once during the 4th of July - amazing location for the fireworks over the water.

As far as the rooms -- be picky! A "water view" room can consist of partial views of the bay but mostly of the Hyatt across the docks as well as the roof of the parking lot! We did have a horrible experience in early june of a wedding party playing something like "bowling with marbles" in the room above us at 2 am. However, the rooms are roomy and comfortable -- beds are HARD though!

The restaurant that is newly designed - Jack Dusty's has a great atmosphere! The food is pretty good - love the brown bread that is served in a tin can. Wine list is excellent -- love the outdoor seating, even in July. Will be back again soon. However, will be very picky abou the room. I did book through the Ritz and am a rewards member so was surprise that our room had an "average" view.

Room Tip: Be picky ! Ask for what you want - don't just leave it to the request online, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camer-always-aready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

During our trip around florida with my wife and kids we stayed in this hotel. The lobby, restaurant and rooms are nice. Beach club is amazing and an absolute must. The breakfast is good and with a nice view. Only negative point is at check out the room rate changed (50 USD higher) than the rate I booked! When I asked the employee at the front desk he just said that he was sorry but did not correct it. Also there was another breakfast charge on the bill that wasn't ours: they tool that off. But i had no time and patience to argue about the 50 USD and therefore I just payed and left, but at this level (Ritz) that should't happen. So be warner and check your statements!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph613mits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This Ritz Carlton is so close to being great that it hurts.

The location is almost waterfront.
(Love the unadvertised Voyeur Balconies that feature adjacent condominiums.)

The furnishings are topnotch and the color palette of Selby Garden Verdure and muted gold is gorgeous.
(Any reason why price tags are still glued to decor objects? Discovered when emptying ice bucket each night.)

Housekeeping staff thorough.
(And apparently psychic since every morning their loud chatter in the room next door woke me 15 minutes before my alarm was set.)

Room service: food quality great but not used to the cart being wheeled in and dumped in front of the balcony with no set up. (The Ritz Carlton in Naples sets up foot rests, plates and silverware and came dangerously close to tucking napkins into collars for the underage diners.)

Ambience: Love coming back in the evening and finding David Sanborn in the room.

Lobby Elevators: Nifty trick always finding doors opening as I turn the corner to go up to the room.

Major complaint: insulation. You read it correctly. Insulation. More precisely, lack of.
When the room is quiet, you can hear everything that happens in the adjacent room's bathroom.
No matter where you are in your room. It's disconcerting at the best of times and horrifying at others.

So if you're traveling alone, keep the remote handy to quickly add ambient noise as needed.

These are such strange complaints to report from a Ritz Carlton; that's where the reference to the old JRT comes from. I just can't imagine any other explanation.

But this is still the best property in the area if it fits your plans and pocketbook.
So enjoy.
Quietly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluntedHedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice property on inland water. If you want beach, they run a very reliable shuttle every hour. The drivers were great and the shuttles were small enough that you didn't feel like you were being herded like cattle. The beach was beautiful and the pool was terrific. Only problem, WAY too many people at the pool on the weekends. If they are going to bring that many people over from the hotel, they need a larger pool area. We tried using the concierge desk but were quickly frustrated. Since we weren't planning on being in our room all day, we asked them to call us on our cell with information so we could make a decision. On two occasions, rather than call the cell, they called the room & left a voice message. They also slid the information under the door of our room, but by the time we returned, it was too late to book anything for the next day. I would expect that the Ritz could afford to make a call to a cell phone, but apparently it is a problem. We took advantage of the workout facility (WOW) and the spa which was very nice. Overall, the stay was pleasant & the food was good. The staff were almost over-zealous....well, except the concierge staff, but I digress.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#3 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
6.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#14 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Address: 1111 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing