We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing Hotel & Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I went for our honeymoon and stayed at the club level, it could not have been a better choice. The staff at the hotel, from the bellman to the shuttle driver treat you so well. The service here could not be better and we will go back. The room was beautiful, the bathroom was immaculate and we loved every detail of our stay. The Ritz Carlton is the gold standard and this is an excellent Ritz

Room Tip: Every Room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coluca01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    357
    147
    61
    46
See reviews for
449
657
35
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently enjoyed a "Mother/Daughter" trip to the Ritz in Sarasota and had an absolutely wonderful time! We were lucky enough to take advantage of a deal they were offering and got to stay on the Club Level which was an experience enough in itself! If at all feasible, do yourself a favor and book a club room - you will not be disappointed!

Hotel/Grounds: This Ritz location actually consists of 2 distinct properties - the actual hotel and the Beach Club. We elected to not rent a car and just took a taxi from the airport which was about a 10-15 minute ride. The hotel itself is located on the Bay and is your typical Ritz property with a grand lobby, floral displays, and a refined décor. It's smaller than some of the other resort properties but certainly not lacking in any amenities. There is a pool at the hotel (with poolside service) but I will say that the one at the Beach Club is nicer. I did also notice a ping pong table and small arcade area for kids on the ground floor. There are also several evening activities held during the week, mainly the live music in the Ca d' Zan lounge which was quite the experience! They were getting ready to start a renovation of this space shortly after we left so I'm not sure if they are still offering this, but make sure to check it out if they do!

The Beach Club is only a few miles away and there is a complimentary shuttle that runs hourly. We had no problems with the shuttle service - it was always on time and the drivers were extremely friendly and helpful. The shuttle also makes a stop at St. Armands Circle (about halfway between the hotel and the beach) which really made a car unnecessary for us. The Beach Club is a gorgeous property complete with a restaurant, pool bar, and well appointed locker rooms. There is a large pool with ample seating along with direct beach access. This pool tends to get a bit more crowded than the one at the hotel, but the overall atmosphere is definitely more relaxing.

Room: As I mentioned, our room was on the Club Level with a decent view of the harbor - I don't know if there are any truly good views at this hotel due to the location. The room itself was fairly large with ample space for all of our luggage. Everything appeared well maintained and very clean and we had absolutely no complaints!

Service: The staff was wonderful and extremely professional (as expected). We were always warmly greeted by the staff members in the lobby and the Club Level staff was always checking in to make sure there was nothing we needed and that there were not any issues. The shuttle drivers were outstanding and really made the effort to learn the faces and names of everyone on board.

Food: Since we were staying on the Club level and are fairly light eaters, we ate most of our meals in the Club Lounge which offers 5 meal presentations daily:

Breakfast - Breakfast was a fairly standard spread of assorted cereals, breads, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, and deli meats as well as a few hot options including oatmeal, breakfast potatoes, and a rotating specialty item. Champagne was also available most mornings to make your own mimosa.

Lunch - This was probably the "heaviest" offering of the day and included assorted sandwiches, salad, cheeses, chips, and crudités. Everything was very fresh and refilled often and we were more than pleased

Afternoon Snack - This was the lightest presentation of the day consisting of assorted nuts and cheeses along with the same chips that were available at lunch.

Dinner Appetizers - There was a decent variety of appetizers offered while we were there. There was always a small salad, some type of seafood "shooter", assorted breads and cheeses, a hot option (chicken skewers, bite-sized quiches) and a few other items. Everything was always pretty good, but I did wish they would offer a healthier or lighter option such as crudités or marinated vegetables

Dessert/Cocktails - Small desserts and liquors were offered in the evenings and certainly offered enough variety to please any sweet tooth!

In addition to the food presentations various soft drinks, water, coffee/tea, and wine (beginning around lunch) were available throughout the day along with assorted cookies and jars of candy. We really enjoyed the lounge, especially the wonderful staff members there. Elena in particular provided exceptional service and we looked forward to seeing her every afternoon! She really treated us as if we were family, not just another hotel guest.

Gym: The fitness room was well appointed with a variety of cardio machines and free weights. It did feel slightly cramped though and many of the cardio machines were marked as being reserved for residents (probably a bonus for them). Overall it met our needs but wasn't designed as nicely as other Ritz properties.

We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely consider this hotel again for our trip next year!

Room Tip: Be sure to take a look at some of their package offerings - you can often find a great deal for an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queue18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg,sweden
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

From the moment you arrive ,you are treated with exceptional sevice by exceptional staff. The property is very well appointed with gorgeus views of the bay. Rooms are large , bathroom is of good standard, but it would be nice if there was a separate walk-in shower.
Club Lounge is amazing, italian inspired decor , very classy but comfortable.
Love, love the beachclub , try the key lime colada, very yummy.
Thanks Ritz for making our day so special, special thanks to Katie, Totte , Clare, Casie.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oregongirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svenfly2
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel itself is located just on the land side of the bridge to the beach. The hotel provides a shuttle to the pool/beach area, which is about a 10 minute drive. The staff was very attentive, polite, and friendly. The room was nice and quite, lovely balcony overlooking the water. The best part of the hotel in my opinion is the pool/beach building. Free valet parking, everyone seems to know your name which was amazing. They even remembered the name of my kid throughout our stay. The locker rooms are very nice, roomy, and clean. The pool is unreal, the main pool being in the middle. On the right is a 1ft deep kid pool/area which was great for our child. On the left there is hot tub area. The beach is a 1 minute walk and is cared after by great staff that will make sure you have everything you need.
Our initial concern was the beach being a drive away, but it's absolutely no issue even traveling with little kids. Overall, great stay and location, exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svenfly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a fabulous place,it's paradise! The Tiki bar is our favourite place to go great atmosphere and drinks......those 2 bartender guys are the bomb!! great team!! Love this place,perfect for everyone, all kinds of everyone there just having fun in the sun.......You must go if your visiting or living in sarasota!! Best place in town!! see u guys on sunday for sunday funday!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I took my daughter and four grandchildren to the Ritz Carlton for a night and the whole experience could not have been better. The staff was absolutely wonderful and it is a very family friendly hotel. The restaurant food was outstanding. The pool area was beautiful. We had a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just came back from a wedding in Sarasota and had the opportunity to stay at the Ritz! What a pleasure! From the moment we pulled-up we were greeted and treated special. Upon entering the lobby we had champagne to start our fun weekend. Our room was on the 9th floor and over looked the marina and Lido Beach!

The bus driver Tom was just so nice. Over at the beachclub we were greeted by Larry and Amanda and they couldn't have been nicer! Amanda made a great dinner choice at the Shore Diner in town!

It was so nice to stay someplace where you felt like you were special!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonton23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 47 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 47 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#15 of 47 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
6.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 47 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Address: 1111 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing