We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Hit the Beach”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was here on business in the off-off-season (August), and had one of the best values for a Ritz stay for a long time -- about $150/night.. Service in the rooms, banquets and restaurants was up to expected Ritz standards. The sole reason I rate this as a 4 rather than a 5 is that the location is somewhat removed from the ocean. The hotel does a good job making up for this by offering shuttle bus service to a pool facility they have on the ocean, but the separation diminishes the resort atmosphere. I advise this is good for business anytime. However, I would probably try to stay at a genuine resort during the high-rate peak season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chadchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,416
    402
    184
    71
    54
See reviews for
618
839
51
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Amazing is all I can think of right now! Everything from start to finish was top notch - nothing overlooked. The grounds, the food, the interior layout - spotless and delicious! An elegant hotel, but not stuffy - the staff was exceptional. I told my husband this is the first hotel we've stayed in that I felt completely safe and comfortable...slept like a baby. Seriously, I wanted to grab the bellman's leg as we were packing the car to leave so he could drag me back into the hotel. This is truly a real 5 star hotel. Congratulations on a great job Ritz Carlton! We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I attend a business conference at the RC-Sarasota every year, and what I love the most about staying there is not the gorgeous room with bay view, or the elegant decoration in every aisle or conference room, but it's definitely the service. RC's staff is the friendliest, most helpful staff I've ever seen and experienced. You leave that hotel wanting to come back and feel like a king for a couple of nights again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with view to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OACG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Amazing hotel in good location. It is everything you would expect from a five star hotel. We had two Water view rooms and the view was great as were the rooms. The whole hotel is gorgeous as is the Beach club and the Golf Club. The staff are very helpfull and attentive but for the best service make sure you tip them well.The restaurant is fantastic and well worth a try but very expensive as is everything at the Hotel. My only criticism is the Bar. On the night we arrived we went in for a drink at 11.30 pm on a Friday night to be told they were closing and we couldn't have a drink. - Not the service you expect as a paying guest at a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: High floor - Sea view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fazinho7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchestry Cty, NY
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Recently stayed at the ritz, in a suite with the family. The room was well appointed, large and comfortable. We were on a low floor, with a "city" view, so basically our view was the roof of the low rise portion of the hotel. We were an early check in , some took what was available,the views of the bay are great on the other side. Service was great, good attention to details, including a dessert tray for the kids. While the property is in need of a few updates to the rooms, all in all,the price was great, and the service, world class. The beach club is a highlight of any visit.

Room Tip: Beware of low floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMRDAR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Despite a few signs of wear, the rooms are beautiful as are the common areas. The Breakfast buffet was wonderful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We had a lovely view of the water. If you can find a parking space on the drive leading up to the hotel, parking was free but otherwise valet parking was needed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Anntmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel was just not on the same level as others we have visited. While the room was pretty much like the other Ritz Carlton, we had trouble with the sink and the shower tub draining properly. And on our first morning, we discovered a rolled up old bandage in our bed. NOT ours. Pretty disgusting. The beach is kind of far away, and even though they had a shuttle service, it was more than just '4 minutes away,: as they claimed. There was no complimentary coffee in the lobby or anywhere else like at the Naples' RItz Carlton and others. The staff, while friendly, just did not impress me. It was ok, but no better than the Marriott or the Embassy Suites, etc. The one good thing was the food at the restaurant on the beach complex. It was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lasdoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 48 in Sarasota
2,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 48 in Sarasota
929 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.7 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
205 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Address: 1111 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2017 "Best Beach in America." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing