We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Get Past The Smell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
257 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Couldn't Get Past The Smell”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We always stay a Hilton Garden Inns, but this is one we wouldn't stay at again. From the time you walk in, there is a musty smell all the way up to the room. We were suppose to stay 3 nights, but checked out after one. It needs major renovations. We stayed in a King suite, which was old and outdated...the room layout was odd too. The sleeper sofa only slept one person and the room was rated for 4. We went to the hot tub at night to find 4 dead frogs and a smell that was just as disgusting. The hotel staff were VERY friendly and helpful, but the smell was too much. They did comp out nights stay, which I did appreciate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGISarasota, David Alexander, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you again for bringing your concerns to our attention. As we discussed, what you experienced earlier this month was not the norm; and I am glad that our staff acted immediately and invoked Hilton Garden Inn’s Satisfaction Promise.

We have since addressed the AC settings in the lobby, which at the time were not set property given the high humidity levels. Regarding the room, on occasion guests some in our non-smoking suites, lacking consideration for others. When this happens, we will be taking those rooms off the market for deep cleaning in order to prevent a recurrence of your family’s experience. We also take high standards of cleanliness of our pool area very seriously. While the pool was inspected earlier in the day, we have taken action to increase the frequency of inspections, especially on days when weather conditions increase the likelihood of debris falling into the outdoor pool and hot tub.

As we discussed, I appreciate your offer to give us another try when you return to the area. We appreciate your loyalty, and are confident that you will be satisfied with your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    190
    92
    54
    33
See reviews for
183
151
50
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel was very clean and well kept. The customer service from the staff was the best -- we were greeted every time we came in and made to feel welcome. They knew the area and gave great tips and ideas. Close and convenient to the airport, but not worn and over-used like so many airport hotels. The only negative was that the fitness room did not feel very clean. Only one treadmill was operational and everything felt a little sticky. But it was Florida after all -- the weather was beautiful and the area was safe enough to walk outside. I will stay here when I return for a vacation later this year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MItravels62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here because of the location to the Ringling Museum where we were attending a friends wedding. The staff and hotel could not have been better. We enjoyed the breakfast the next day very much(made to order eggs,etc.) Priced right and would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here while visiting family in the area. Close to the Sarasota airport and the University area. Not that close to the beaches. The staff is great,rooms comfortable. Nice outdoor pool. We did not use it much during the day due to hot weather. Breakfast is an upgrade but worth it. Breakfast items made to order eggs, french toast and pancakes, Overall a solid hotel outside the downtown area at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fridame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERYWHERE
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great location if you are going to the airport. Just a couple of minutes on their hotel shuttle.
Nice property, clean, fairly new property. Nice rooms with fridge and microwave. Shower nozzle was annoying. I would prefer just a regular nozzle than this adjustable massage type thing the shower has.
Fast, convenient breakfast.
Nice outdoor pool area. The pool is on the east side of the building, so you will not get any sun later in the afternoon.
McDonald's just a two minute walk away, plus a handful of other restaurants that you can walk too, or use the hotel shuttle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNRECERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The swimming pool looks extremely dirty, gray crust left on my nails I could only remove with much water and soap using sponge. The hotel hosts many people attending parties and noise and clutter of drunk people in the halls late at night does not let you sleep, We called 3 times to reception but nothing was done, we finally can sleep around 3:00 am.... Pretty Bad...!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGISarasota, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay in the area and we apologize for the problems you encountered. We have addressed the cleanliness issues with our pool, and we apologize for this inconvenience. The issues may possibly stem from recent storms that had passed through the area and more leaves and dirt in the pool than usual. Our housekeeping staff has been notified of the smell in your guest room and they have corrected that as well. We assure you that if you give us another opportunity, you won't be disappointed in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We held our daughter's wedding nearby and stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for our entire stay. We have over 45 room nights here with our party and had a great time. The hotel staff was incredibly accomadating to all our needs. David Alexander coordinated all of our events and did a super job.The staff from the cleaning crew to the restaurant staff to the management all provided expectional service and attention to detail. I would hughly recommend this venue for any business meeting , event or just a personal vacation. I know I am coming back!!

Ed Varney

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edvarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
6.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport
9.7 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport
Address: 8270 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34243-2051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only one mile from the Sarasota-Bradenton International Airport, Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport provides easy access to many of southwest Florida's premier attractions. Stay at our Sarasota Airport hotel and walk along Sarasota Bay. Visit the world-famous Siesta Key for shopping and dining or take the complimentary shuttle anywhere within five miles of the hotel. Our hotel in Sarasota offers spacious rooms with the latest technology and conveniences. Enjoy complimentary WiFi and print to the 24-hour business center using secure remote printing. Indulge in a delicious meal at The Garden Grille & Bar(R) at our hotel in Sarasota. Enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast in the morning and sample from the a la carte menu in the evening. Take a dip in the outdoor pool and whirlpool or work out in the complimentary fitness center. Our Sarasota Airport hotel is also an excellent choice for your next meeting or special event in Florida. From small board meetings to large banquets, our professional team will handle all the details. Located with easy access to Powel Crosley Estate, our hotel is the ideal spot for Sarasota wedding accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport Hotel Sarasota
Hilton Sarasota
Sarasota Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing