We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You get what you pay for.........” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Lake Placid, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Hall doors were propped open & hallway was hot & humid. Bed was comfortable with new spreads on both beds. Bathroom cabinets needed painting & back of bathroom door needed to be cleaned. Shower water pressure was good. No coffee pot in the room. Highlight of the night was the giant cockroach that kept running across the wall until we killed it (didn't want it running across us in the night). Water damage noted on the ceiling. Being a Florida resident I understand about cockroaches but was not impressed when the check-out clerk tried to tell me that they couldn't help the cockroach because they had too many palm trees around building??????Continental breakfast was the most pathetic offering I've ever encountered.
Even though it was just off main road(Hwy#41) there was no traffic noise. Satisfaction depends on your standards & what you want from a motel room.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flmarg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    22
    20
    23
See reviews for
17
27
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Employees very friendly. Very helpful. Prompt.

Called taxi and arranged time and pickup location.

Close to downtown Sarasota. Good location for food and other services.

Best value close to town.

Clean.

Breakfast good.

Stay on the second floor, pool side. Quiet!

Room Tip: Second floor pool side, quiet and close to laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager01339, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank You for taking the time and writing this review. Please feel free to stay with us in the future when visiting Sarasota, Florida.

Thank You Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We found the receptionist to be very unhelpful. Room very basic but clean corridors smelled a bit musty. It's a 5 minute walk to down town where we met really friendly locals. Cannot remember the name of the bar but they had bands on day and night it was next to the car park may have been Norma jeans. Would stay here again but only for the location

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Sarasota was not part of our original plan.We booked a hotel for 2 nights and for the 2nd time had to cancel the 2nd night because the first hotel sucked! We ended up here. The room was GREAT! Very clean, very spacious. We had our own poolside patio. Everything in the room worked for a change. Free Wi Fi, Free breakfast. They supplied us with a coffee pot, The location is close to the beaches and great restaurants. The islands off the coast of Sarasota are way more interesting than the Florida Keys. The shopping was great, the beaches incredible , expecially on the Siesta Key. Armands circle is a great place to wander and shop. This hotel was a nice place to come home to at night. They work very hard to make sure its clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay here again should I go back to visit Sarasota.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager01339, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank You for your wonderful review. We hope that when you visit Sarasota, Florida you will stay with us again.

Thank You
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we found our room to be cleaner than most higher priced hotels. The manager went out of her way to make our stay pleasant - gave us tips about the surrounding area, even though she was very busy. The breakfast was good - nothing spectacular, but nourishing and well presented. There was a grocery store right across the street, where we picked up supper, cooked it in our microwave and put our drinks in our fridge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We needed a room the Friday after Christmas and were really in a bind since we tried about 20 hotels that did not have availability. We found this one for $69.99 and figured we better take it. It was pretty bad, especially for that price. There was no elevator that we ever found to the 2nd floor where our room was. There was a stench in the hallways and in the room. The whole time I was really worried about bugs but luckily never saw one--whew! I had to move the nightstand to access the only available outlet. The shower was all right; it had an updated shower curtain but the water pressure/temperature were not the greatest. There was only one small bar of soap without any shampoo or any other toiletries. There was a hair dryer so that was good. Breakfast was very sparce. There were 4 tables in a very cramped space and a choice of 2 cereals, waffle, or toast. They do not accept the Americas Best Value reward program so if you stay here you won't get a discount, upgrade, points, or anything else with the program. This is not somewhere I would stay again. We were so desperate so I'm glad we found a place but it was not good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

very friendly staff and clean rooms. I have stayed at this hotel many times and never had a bad stay. I will only stay here when in Sarasota. The grounds are well maintained. Maids are very friendly. I will tell all my friends and family about this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53bigsteve1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ranola
Hotel Ranola
#9 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#24 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 811 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34236-7824
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a clean and comfortable hotel in the great location of downtown Sarasota. 4 Miles to the award winning Seasta Key beach, 3 miles to St. Armonds Circle, and 4 miles to Lido Key beach. All local attractions including Ringling Museum of Art, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Mote Aquarium and Hundreds of restaurants are less than 5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing