We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Pioneer Florida

If you want to know how people lived in Florida long ago, Crowley Museum and Nature Center is for... read more

Reviewed July 15, 2018
louis7767
,
Sarasota, Florida
Super fun, affordable and well maintained

There are so many things to see here that you won't see in any other Sarasota area attraction. We... read more

Reviewed June 2, 2018
HColes11
Read all 31 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sarasota
from $50.00
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
from $15.00
More Info
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
21
6
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
6
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop sarasota area swamp information history wildlife florida
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 31 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2018

If you want to know how people lived in Florida long ago, Crowley Museum and Nature Center is for you. There are several historic buildings, "cracker" cattle, a blacksmith shop and a museum filled with artifacts and interpretive signage explaining what Florida was like in pioneer times. If you want to know what the land in Florida was like in the days before development, Crowley is also for you. There are trails you can walk on to see unspoiled nature. There's even a boardwalk through a beautiful and mysterious swamp. Florida's past and its original landscape are here for you to see. It's worth the trip.

1  Thank louis7767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

There are so many things to see here that you won't see in any other Sarasota area attraction. We love to bring vegetable scraps to feed to the pig. The kids rope course and zip lines are great for toddlers and small children. The shop offers affordable high-quality gifts and snacks. We truly adore this place and come as often as we can.

Thank HColes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017

This is really a nice quiet place to visit. Friendly staff, knowledgeable, and willing to share all kinds of information. The boardwalk thru the woods and swamp is pretty cool. Alot of wildlife around. Good way to experience some history.

Thank L A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017

A very interesting, authentic and rustic place to visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there, lots of interesting walks specially the boardwalk. An extremely interesting museum, we now know what the term 'cracker' means.
A good entrance fee and coffee is only a dollar.
The staff are lovely, had a nice long conversation with the lady in the gift shop/office. She was very welcoming and knowledgeable and made a good cup of coffee!
Like to think we will be back in the future.

Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017

I read the reviews and expected more. It is a beautiful old Florida experience without the necessary guidance . Everything looked quite run down but you could see how nice it could be had there been one person to welcome and explain or even a map with some detail. We were NOT greeted by the gal at the desk who took our money and never exchanged a word (only to whom she was talking on the phone) Outside were some men making horseshoes maybe, never knew since they didn't greet us either. We took the path with numbers and no explanation. Later, we noticed that we could use ur phone but you needed coverage and At&T didn't cut it. Boardwalk though needing repair went through a very old Florida like atmosphere. We didn't see any wildlife perhaps because it was afternoon. Lots of swamp, a fire tower over prairie grasses. But the pioneer houses were left to the imagination, no signage. Only the Cracker exhibit had a very long explanation. The Children's area had promise but there were two or three huts for animals with no animals and no trees or branches to make it comfortable for the creatures. There was a zip line with no one to oversea. My impression was a place that could with a little work be informative. Maybe we caught it on a off day - no one really in attendance. But they charged 5 dollars a person and I thought for all the neglect either charge more or nothing at all. If you are steeped in Old Florida history, this could be a very interesting place but if you wanted to learn something, best leave it to your imagination.

Thank ViviColumbiaMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

Although it is getting a little long in the tooth it provides a interesting look back at the Pioneer history of the area with a Cracker house,homesteaders cabin,blacksmith shop,sugar cane mill, and various farm animals. Located on nearly 200 acted of land the museum offers several walking trails the most interesting of which is the half mile board walk and tower through the Maple Branch swamp. Where else could you get this close to nature without getting you feet wet. This was a great find!

1  Thank Everett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

The Crowley Museum and Nature Center is quite a unique place. The general store is run by a woman in period costume and she is very eager to share her knowledge of the Crowley family and early Florida life. Thank you, Jane!
There is a pioneer cabin, an early settler's house, a sawmill, and a museum. The boardwalk follows, in part, an old cattle trail and meanders through lush Florida vegetation. Numbers along the trail correspond to information about the plants and animals. There are facilities and activities to support informative lessons for school students.
Very nice place!

1  Thank Jocelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2016

Incredible half-mile boardwalk where I saw a red fox and a gator very closeup but safely. A shame this facility doesn't get more recognition. They could really use more money to keep things going. The admission is only $5. Very nice volunteer named Janie at the front desk. This is an ideal place for peace and quiet on the weekend. I understand that they bring schoolchildren here during the week and they have a ball.The website does not adequately explain the details of this place, including historic buildings furnished with period pieces.

1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

Crowley Museum & Nature Center is an amazing jewel of old world Florida that allows you to fully immerse yourself in the area's natural and pioneer past. We enjoyed everything from historical buildings and antique items to beautiful wild nature trails and wildlife. There is some friendly livestock on site that are used in youth education for field trips etc. a big pig, cattle, chickens.... the kids loved it. We saw a bald eagle, birds, lizards, snakes and a gopher tortoise digging a burrow! My 3 year old son loves the interactive children's discovery path with all sorts of stations they can play on while learning about some of the area's important wildlife. I love the 1/2 boardwalk and viewing tower, museum, pioneer and Tatum house. We also bought a ton of unique gifts at the welcome center. The local, raw and organic honey is awesome! CMNC has great events. We learn about them through their Facebook and Instagram posts. The staff and instructors who are nearly all volunteers are extremely nice and helpful and clearly love it there. What makes this place better is that they love to reach and teach children about history and nature. You can't find a better 501c3 non profit in the whole area. We'll never tire of #crowleymuseumandnaturecenter

1  Thank TropEcoNursery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016

We had heard some good things about this center but also some bad things about the attitude of a staff member. Unfortunately, we experienced the rude behavior and will not be back. She was condescending and rude to everyone that was there and seemed very judgmental. It was so distracting that it really ruined our entire visit. So sad as the place seemed charming but we left quickly to avoid her attitude and bad language.

2  Thank momoffivekiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews