We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best summer vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“best summer vacation”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

this place is wonderful .. very quiet and family .. I had never stayed here before a very friendly staff .
can not compare with lido beach resort but for the price excellent .... my family loved it and my small daughters did not want to go home ....
I stay in the 317 is small but comfortable .... needs its small arrangements like the front door, the mattresses I think I need a change.
small kitchen but with everything you need for your cooking.

gulf beach resort motel thanks for these wonderful summer vacation 4 july 2013

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank buruburuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am happy to hear that you all enjoyed your time with us and that you had a great summer vacation. We do pride ourselves on being a family oriented facility and that is evidenced by the number of families that return to stay with us year after year. It sounds like you were able to make good use of the kitchen in the unit. Most families especially enjoy that amenity as it is a cost saving to be able to enjoy breakfast or a quick lunch, especially with children. I have taken note of your comment regarding the mattresses and will be contacting the owner to replace them. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we hope that you will return to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    97
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
80
93
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

For the past few years my husband and I have been vacationing in the Keys. This trip was an unplanned visit to see family and we are so glad we stayed here. What a difference! I came into the room and immediately begin changing the sheets to find them not just clean, but NEW. We live in Florida and know that after 2 days there is sand everywhere but I was shocked to have very clean floors when we arrived. It is worth it to me to have cleanliness but the staff was so great! We stayed in a room with a kitchen and it was amazingly stocked. It even has a tea pitcher. We had to go home after a few days but will be returning in a couple of weeks. Our new vacation spot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am glad that you found us and that you enjoyed your time with us. All of our staff goes above and beyond to make sure that each guest's stay is as enjoyable and comfortable as possible and it sounds like you experienced that firsthand. Most of our units do have kitchens and we try to keep them well stocked so that guests can enjoy their time with us. We look forward to your return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids MI
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ok I'm maybe not quite that old, but this is a very quaint place to stay. It's not the Ritz, but the location is right on the beach and each room is individually decorated so it's very unique in that regard. Rooms are small but functional as you should spending your time on the beach, or visiting all that Sarasota has to offer (Armand's Circle, Opera, Ringling Musuem, etc.) If I am to go back to this area, I will likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms directly face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZF140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We take pride in the uniqueness of our property and the feeling of yesteryear. We work hard to maintain our historical ambiance and pass on the feeling of a home away from home when guests vacation here. Most of our units do have fully equipped kitchens which makes it easy to grab a quick breakfast or lunchtime snack while still being able to enjoy our private beach. It also sounds like you took advantage of the various activities that Sarasota has to offer. It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to when you can return to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Love the area completely! Clean quiet so much too see.gulf has clean rooms clean beaches great location will be goin next yr.again can walk almost to downtown from here or the desk will call you a ride.thanks to Greg for finding us a room for one more nite when we screwed up our reservation on Memorial Day weekend.thanks Sharon&Brian M.
So much to do in walking distance always a breeze from beach especially @ night...gorgeous sunsets...

Room Tip: Restaurants less than ample All rooms were good from what we saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon_baylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm so happy that we were able to accommodate you for the extra night. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our beautiful beach as well as the other activities that are close by. St. Armand's Circle is a short walking distance from our property and offers a large variety of shopping and dining experiences. The downtown Sarasota area is just minutes away from Lido Key and is easily a short cab ride. It also offers a large selection of unique restaurants and shops. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you return to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We checked in on May 30, 2013 in room 113... It was without a doubt the most horrible experience of our life.. Rust, mildew, broken blinds, electrical cords strung out in bedroom and living room.. Tile floor, our feet were filthy after walking on the floor. The patio was rusty, and the lock was broken on our door... Luckily for us, we checked out and I told the person checking us out about how horrible it was, and she said "well our quaint little motel" isnt for everyone" really???? If we could have found somewhere else to stay for that night we would have and it was not for lack of trying. I was also told that lots of people request that particular room.... Ok they can have it. Bed sheets had holes in them....My husband even complained, and he never complains about anything!!! I told her that even with the Fl discount, the room was not worth it!!! She said "so I suppose you want me to take some money off of your room..... " Uh yeah!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BOBBI1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Had we known how displeased you were with the room the night before we would have been more than happy to move you to another room that may have been more to your liking. I went in and inspected the unit after you left and was unable to verify some of your complaints, however, we will continue to strive to keep our rooms in excellent condition. I believe it was mentioned that we are a "unique" property and not to everyone's liking. I also believe that several other hotels in the area were recommended to you that might have been better suited to your needs. I certainly hope that you were able to find other accommodations on our beautiful island that met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed two nights here on our recent holiday. The location could not be bettered and you are virtually on the beach. The staff we encountered were all friendly and willing to help. The decor in the rooms was a little bit dated but our room was very clean and other than sleeping we didn't spend a lot of time in it. Bit disappointed that there was no tea or coffee in the room. Most of the rooms have outside seating areas behind mesh screens. Presume this is to keep bugs out but it did make the rooms look a bit like cages. The hotel website is great, it has a plan showing all the rooms so you can actually view your room and see where it is prior to booking. Thought this was a nice touch. The gulf beach resort is surrounded by plusher hotels but it all depends what you want to pay. If you are looking for something a bit more basic but in exactly the same location as the, so called plusher resorts, then this place will take some beating and represents excellent value for money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonnyGrimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I appreciate your positive input about our web site. We have tried to make it informative and easy to navigate. Most people like the privacy our screened porches provide while still having the feeling of being outside. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our beach and also take advantage of everything our area has to offer. We are kind of nestled in between the high rise condominiums and hotels, but I think that is what makes us unique. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Gulf Beach Resort and absolutely loved it! As others mentioned, it is so clean! Our condo was decorated very cute and "beachie." The kitchen was well equipped; everything you need!
The beach is steps away and is very nice and clean.
Also, the staff, housekeeping especially, were so gracious and accomodating.
And the price can't be beat.
We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYBoiseID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. All of our staff take great pride in making everyone's stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. A special thank you to you for mentioning our housekeeping staff. Most of our staff has been with us for many years and a guest's comfort is very important to them. Thank you also for mentioning that we do have affordable rates. We strive to make a beach getaway affordable for most everyone. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having you return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,425 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
0.1 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Sarasota
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Property: Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Address: 930 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Beach Resort Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Gulf Beach Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing