We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Old motel”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The building we stayed in is an old probably '50s motel, while clean, bed was like a box springs/mattress in one, not good and the shower just barely came out with mostly no water pressure, most likely old stopped up pipes. It was on the Gulf which we enjoyed watching the sunset.Our room could have used a little paint here and there to clean things up, overall for the price we pd.of $145.00 I would not stay here again because of the above mentioned areas.

Room Tip: Ck shower pressure before unloading your clothes and request another room if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamer7456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. You are correct in that we were originally built in the early 1950's and were one of the first hotels on the beach on Lido Key. We are a historically designated hotel and take pride in trying to maintain the appearance and ambiance of the original intent of the property. I apologize that you had an issue with the shower. We take care of maintenance issues as soon as possible after they are reported to the office. In looking at the history of the unit that you stayed in there had not been any reported problems with the shower. I also appreciate you letting us know about the bed situation and that will be addressed as well. We do try to keep our rates affordable so that people can manage to spend quality time on a beach vacation or getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    97
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
82
94
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our family have been coming to this charming little gem since at least the early 70's. each room is individually owned, so every room yields a different look. Most rooms come with kitchens, but you can also get cheaper rooms without. The atmosphere is very friendly and casual. (Just check out the photo collage at the front desk and you'll get the idea.) The facility is right up on the beach, so there's no walk to speak of. The prices are very reasonable, as is their reservation policy. You're not going to find anything terribly fancy here (however the wifi is pretty speedy) and there's a beach-worn feel to it all, but that just adds to the atmosphere. Love this place!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am so happy to hear that you have been enjoying our property for so many years. We have many families that return year after year and it is always fun to see how the families have grown and are introducing new little ones to Gulf Beach. It is exciting to us to see guests making new memories and reminiscing about old ones. We continue to see many new families starting a tradition of returning to Gulf Beach yearly as well. We also take pride in trying to keep our prices reasonable so that we can remain affordable for so many to enjoy a vacation/getaway to the beach. We love having your family stay with us and we look forward to many more years of vacations at Gulf Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakdale pa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Small retro motel surrounded by high rise hotels. Clean but very small room (unit 202). Courteous
staff. Room had only small fridge and microwave. No restaurants or stores within one mile. Had
to drive to eat or shop.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. The unit you stayed in was a motel room which does offer a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. All of our other types of rooms do have fully equipped kitchens and may be a little more convenient if you are staying for more than a few nights. The island we are on (Lido Key) is most definitely a more quiet and laid-back environment than some of the others in the area. There is a large selection of restaurants and shops at St. Armand's Circle which is about 3/4 of a mile from our property. We also try to advise guests that will be visiting us for the first time to stop at a grocery store on their way in to pick up any food and beverage items they may need or want as there are no grocery or convenience stores on the island. I hope that you will return to visit with us again and we would be more than happy to work with you to find the room that would be more suitable for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

With the Marriott on one side and Ritz on the other, you know you are in a high rent district on the beach but without the cost, so you can expect it to be "historic" and nothing fancy, but the important thing was the staff was super nice and friendly, it was clean and had everything we needed for a few days. We rented an efficiency condo on the second floor in the building nearest the beach, but unfortunately the weather was not beachy, so we did a lot of window shopping and spent a pleasant afternoon at Myakka State Park. There are rooms and condos here so it just depends on what you need and how much you want to pay. I would recommend it for older couples and those with children on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the activities available in the area. We are designated as a historic motel and take pride in trying to maintain the original condition and ambiance of the property as it was when it was built. We know that we cannot compete with the high-end hotels that surround us but acknowledge that we can offer a unique experience for those travelers that are looking to enjoy a relaxing and low-key vacation on the beach. I hope to see you return to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here with friends for a 3-day, 3 opera weekend. Quiet with nice beach; our rooms were clean and attractive, nothing fancy, close to downtown Sarasota and the Opera House (15 minutes) and St. Armand's shopping (5 minutes). Weather was cold so didn't spend much time on the beach or at the motel. Manager was friendly and free coffee offered at the office in the morning.

Room Tip: My husband and I and the couple who joined us reserved two ground floor rooms next to one another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay and take advantage of the many cultural activities Sarasota has to offer. We did unfortunately experience an unusually cold March this year which made it difficult for people to enjoy the beaches. We hope that others also took advantage of the other activities available in the area. I look forward to having you return to stay with us again at some future time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

First time at Gulf Beach and would definitely recommend. Yes, the property is aged and lacks eminities found in newer properties but the location can't be beat. Rooms are comfortable, nice heated pool, walking proximity to St. Armand's Circle, Lido National Park and a nice private beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your first time with us and were able to take advantage of our beautiful beach and heated pool. We take pride in making our rooms as comfortable as possible for our guests and try our best to accommodate their needs. It sounds like you were able to visit some of the fine restaurants and unique shops at St. Armand's Circle as well as enjoy some of the trails at South Lido Park. We certainly appreciate your kind comments and look forward to having your return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I guess if you are into 50's era lodging this would be the place to go but I appreciate a more modern room with amenities such as HEAT! The room was clean but very outdated and somewhat run down. The heat didnt work so I called the office. They said they could provide a space heater if I came to get it...not exactly good customer service. Would I return? Definately NOT! On the plus side, it is located on the gulf and has a nice beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you might have expected. I appreciate your comment that our rooms were clean and that you were able to enjoy our beautiful beach. With regards to having an issue with heat in the room, our window air conditioners do come equipped with heat strips. It is very unfortunate that the heat did not work in your particular room and I apologize for that. In the evening our desk clerk is the only staff member on site and is not always able to attend to some issues immediately. It is my understanding that they did offer to bring you a heater at the end of their shift but also stated that you could come to the office to pick one up if you needed one immediately. Since all of our rooms are decorated differently, we always prefer to offer guests various options of rooms so that they may choose the one to their liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,470 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
0.1 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Sarasota
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Property: Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Address: 930 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Beach Resort Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Gulf Beach Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing