We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Way Overrated”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not at all what we expected from the number one rated hotel. Our room smelled musty covered with a strong soapy scent while our friend's room smelled of urine. Beds were old, window ac whose filter smelled as if it hadn't been cleaned in ages. Refrigerator had ice trays partially used. Generally shoddy. Our friend's room had plastic under the sheets. Checkout was no later than 11:00 AM allowing little time for activities. That said, we couldn't wait to get out. After staying at the Lido Beach Resort two building down several times, I don't understand how this receives a number one rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. Our check out time of 11:00 a.m. is considered to be a standard time in the hotel/motel industry. Although we do require our guests to check out of their room by 11:00 a.m. they are all invited to remain on the property to either enjoy the beach or the pool for the day.Our units are inspected on a daily basis for any repairs that are required and they are tended to on a timely basis. I certainly understand if you feel that your experience at another hotel was different than the one you had at Gulf Beach. We are an older facility, we are not a high-rise and we do not have some of the amenities that the other hotel can offer. We do however pride ourselves on being unique and work very hard at making each guest's experience an enjoyable one. We also recognize that we may not be suitable for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    97
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
80
93
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

we paid $168 to stay in a room, 301b the room was not only dated and in need of a good painting, but smelled or urine, the beds had plastic sheets, which were very hot and uncomfortable. The bathroom was a disgrace, fosset hanging off the wall and bath should be condemned and the ceiling had polystyrene tiles, highly illegal. If you are selling rooms, you have to think about the people who are paying good money to stay, not how much you can make without keeping it up to a good standard. This was an eye opener didnt think people today sold rooms in this state.

Room Tip: The rooms are all owned by different people, its pot luck here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I am sorry that you feel that you had a bad experience at Gulf Beach. Upon reading your review I immediately inspected the unit to correct the issues you had mentioned. I would like to state that we do not have "plastic sheets" on our beds. We do have mattress covers on the mattresses and the box springs and we also have good quality bedding on all of our beds. I could not find an issue with the bathroom faucet. The ceiling tiles that you mention are purchased at a well known national home improvement center and to the best of their knowledge, and ours, they are not illegal. They are standard ceiling tiles that can be found in many commercial and rental properties. We also recognize that our facility is not suited to every one. The majority of our guests have enjoyed their stays with us and return year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have been coming to the Gulf Beach for roughly 14 years. The friendly staff, comfy rooms, heated pool, walking proximity to St. Armand's Circle, South Lido National Park and let's not forget the wonderful beach make this spot Heaven on Earth. Over all of the years we see the same people who also enjoy the Gulf Beach on an annual basis. These guests along with us have all become a family over the years. I would highly recommend staying here as often as you can.
Bob Miller-Sobel

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with the staff and they will gladly suggest the right room for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobMillerSobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We look forward every year to having your family stay with us. It always feels like a piece of home has come to shine a light on Gulf Beach. All of the staff enjoys seeing couples and families return to stay with us year after year. We've seen many people that have forged long lasting friendships with other guests and plan their vacations to be here at the same time. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Yes, mattresses are not at their best, and fridge and air conditioner were noisy (room 107). But you can switch the aircon off, and use the ventilator. When I reported about the fridge, it stopped being noisy!
On the other side you have a gorgeous location, nice old '50 look, clever spaces, clean floors, a lot of towels every morning, and a great beach.
I think attitude counts a lot when travelling; you must be indulgent as to the minor aspects of your accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be rather different, so you can choose on the exhaustive website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm glad you enjoyed our private beach and your stay with us. I am sorry that you had some problems with the refrigerator and air conditioner. We would have been more than happy to address the situation had we known about it. You are right in that each of our rooms are unique and different from each other. We do strive to make each guest's stay as enjoyable and as comfortable as possible. We certainly hope that you will return to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Västerås
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Back for the fourth time to this Motel and really enjoyed it as usual. This place has one of the best locations you can imagine, basically you walk out of your room and step directly onto the beach. The rooms are all individually owned wich also means that every room is different from another, check the pictures of the rooms when booking so you can choose the one you like the most. We have tried several rooms and been quite content every time. We will return again, hopefully already next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EoCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stays at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm happy to hear that you've been able to stay in several different rooms and enjoyed each one. We are unique in that each unit is decorated differently by the owner. We can offer several options to guests to accommodate their needs. Most of our units have fully equipped kitchens which many guests appreciate as well. I always enjoy walking the property in the mornings and seeing guests enjoying their morning coffee and reading the newspaper. We look forward to your return to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here at the end of a two week holiday to Florida. It's location right on the beach sold it to us. We lived on the beach for four glorious days, the sunsets were amazing. The place is well looked after and an ideal base to discover the Sarasota area.
The place is not luxurious but resonably priced, clean and it's location sells it.
Many people we met had been there year after year and we would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: The ones near the beach on the ground floor are great as they have their own little terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank deaconwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about Gulf Beach Resort Motel and for taking the time to write a review about us. I'm happy you were able to end your vacation staying with us and enjoying our beautiful sunsets. We do tend to have a lot of guests that return year after year and we are so grateful that they share their experiences and recommend us to their friends and family. We are in an ideal location for guests to be able to enjoy St. Armand's Circle, downtown Sarasota, and many of the attractions Sarasota has to offer. When you're ready to sit back, relax, and enjoy the beach and the sun we have plenty of lounge chairs on our beach for you to do so. We thank you again for discovering us and hope that you will become one of the guests that returns to visit with us year after year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were married here 9 years ago and we just keep going back time after time. We just stayed last weekend for my 44th birthday and they are such good hosts and staff. Greg the main man at the office is very polite and easy to work with, the rest of the staff never passes by you without saying good morning or hello or have a great day. I will say it is not the Ritz, but is very clean and every room is different and that is what has made our times here fun and interesting. I can also say you WILL NOT find a beach front hotel cheaper from Siesta Key to Anna Marie Island, trust me we have looked. It is close to St. Armand's Circle and many shops and restaurants, so it's location is great. Also has a nice heated pool and we even were swimming in it in the middle of January, so AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel and sharing your experiences with us. I'm glad that Gulf Beach is a special place for you to return to year after year after having been married here. Thank you for commenting on our staff. Each and every one of them takes such pride in what they do and try their best to make each guest's stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We are definitely trying to keep our rates affordable so that everyone can enjoy a vacation at the beach. We look forward to having you return to stay with us for many more years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,429 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
0.1 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Sarasota
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Property: Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Address: 930 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Beach Resort Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Gulf Beach Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing