We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the GBRM for a weekend getaway from Orlando. We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the interior. We were in room 316. Great view of the ocean from the building's balcony. We did not use the kitchen, but it had everything we would have needed. Loved being able to walk 50 yards to the beach and a beautiful sunset. Bedroom was a little snug, but very comfortable with plenty of extra pillows and blankets. We will definitely stay here agin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are very happy to hear that you consider us a "gem" as we do as well. We are pleased that you traveled from Orlando to spend a weekend getaway at our special place on Lido Beach. Most of our units do have fully equipped kitchens which make it perfect for making everything from light lunches or breakfasts to complete meals! We look forward to having you visit with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 228 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We wanted to get some beach time for a few days while visiting relatives on the east coast of Florida. We had never really visited the Sarasota area so we initiated an on-line search for a quiet place on the beach and we found it at the GulfBeach Reort Motel. The "Motel" consists of individually owned units that are really condominiums. Each is decorated to the taste of the owner(s) and each has a kitchenette and screened in porch. We ate out at the nearby St. Armands Circle area of shops and restaurants for two nights and prepared a meal in on one night.

The Sarasota area is very busy with a lot of traffic, but the Gulf Beach Resort is tucked away from it all and is very quiet. The beach is beautiful and very wide. There are several covered pavilions and we commandered one to watch the sunset one evening. All in all we had a nice getaway in the midst one of the busiest areas of Florida.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WindyCity020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are so glad you managed to find our quiet little place on the beach in Sarasota. Lido Key is definitely more laid back and less hectic than other areas of our beautiful city on the gulf. We are also close to many activities and cultural venues. St. Armand's is a quaint area featuring unique shopping and dining experiences and very close to our facility. We certainly hope that you will return in the future to visit with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Allow me to say I am some what a princess when it comes to accommodations, but this place is VERY much worth staying at. Its no Ritz Carleton, but I HIGHLY recommend anyone looking for quaint, to look here.
When we first arrived, I was skeptical by the first glance. The curb appeal was not overly inviting. HOWEVER, if you are on the hunt for a little niche that provides romance, you've got the right spot here.
It was very quiet at night, and the amenities in the area were very nice. The resturants are amazing, and lots of shopping.
If you like spicy, try the blackened Mahi Mahi from the Daiquiri Deck restaurant. I've had the same thing in Tahiti, and it was very much the same.
Overall, this is one spot that I highly recommend to most people I know. And, if you like to cook (as I do) each unit comes with a kitchen fully stocked.
It's a guaranteed memory making spot.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MBluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, General Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. During this summer we have made some big changes to our entry area by completely re-landscaping our grounds and planting Florida native and Florida friendly plantings. I'm glad that you chose to give us a chance and that you had a wonderful experience with us. We are constantly trying to make improvements and welcome any comments or suggestions from our guests. We also appreciate that you are recommending us to your friends! I hope that you will return to us in the near future to make more memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was a cute little hide away in Sarasota. We visited and stayed during our wedding and it was wonderful. It was quaint and secluded. The staff was kind and helpful. All of our friends thought the same. This is a historic location with many modern amenities inside.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, General Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are very happy that you and your family and friends chose to celebrate your special day with us. We especially enjoy seeing families and friends celebrate gatherings and special occasions at our special place on the beach. Our staff takes great pride in making sure that everyone's stay is as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We hope that you will return to make more memories at Gulf Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We drove into Sarasota right after a very expensive chi-chi weekend with the peeps and guess what? We liked this place better!! A little slice of old Florida just like we used to stay in with Mom and Dad. Quiet room, right on the beach, clean sheets, hot shower, TV & WiFi, fridge, free coffee, small pool but nice, BBQ pits, tiki hut, great location near St Armand's Circle AND very reasonable rates - what more could you want? We would definitely stay here again :-)

Room Tip: Each room privately owned, all different, take a look before you choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firkinboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are very happy that you happened upon us during your visit to Sarasota. We have many families that have been staying with us for years and are now bringing generations of family members back! We are definitely unique in that each room is different which allows all guests options that will fit their needs. We look forward to having you return to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have been going there for 9 years because it is a nice, reasonably priced and good location; however this year the cleaning service was not up to par as in the past and the rooms we stayed in need a little facelift.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tytaylor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We value our long time guests and appreciate your input. We also work very hard with our owners to keep rooms updated. Our rates have held steady for quite a few years in order to offer a reasonably priced and affordable vacation spot for all of our guests. We appreciate your feedback and will make every effort to make improvements where needed. We look forward to having you return to vacation with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have been coming here since 1996 and will keep coming back for years to come. We love room 319, but so does everyone else, so staying here every year is no longer possible, since we come down for my birthday every year. The view is perfect. Our "neighbors" are friendly and even the seaweed brought some excitement with all of the wildlife that comes with it. Just so you understand, this is not an upscale, new this and new that facility, but a throw back to the simpler days of vacations. It is what it is, so just sit back and enjoy the beach, the friendly atmosphere, and Armand Circle. Until we can get "our" room booked again, we will bounce around the world like vacation vagabonds, enjoying ourselves, but waiting for our room to be available at the Gulf Beach Resort.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank DannyG985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences and time spent at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We appreciate and welcome our long term guests. We make every effort to maintain the uniqueness and simplicity of our little spot of paradise on Lido Beach. Our intention is for everyone to be able to relax and enjoy the simple beach life and make the most of their vacation time. Thank you for being such a loyal guest and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 51 in Sarasota
709 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Address: 930 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: $121 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Beach Resort Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gulf Beach Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing