We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We love this property. Basic but charming with an incredible location on Lido Key. Extremely friendly and courteous staff. The rooms are basic and privately owned. We've stayed almost annually for the past 8 years. We will continue to travel to this property. We've also stayed at the Ritz Carlton Sarasota (their beach club is a few doors down) - - and prefer this property because of its location. We sacrifice the luxury for the laid-back vibe of this property. Our preference when traveling to Lido Key/Sarasota.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the main level so you have a screened porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denizati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We love to see guests return year after year to experience the casual and comfortable ambiance of our special place on Lido Beach. We strive to make each guest's stay as pleasant as possible which is evidenced by the number of people that return to stay with us year after year. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 237 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I were married in May, 2008 on the beach at Gulf Beach Resort. Our wedding party and wedding guests all stayed there for the weekend. All of the rooms rented were clean, cozy and had beach/coastal themes which is just so relaxing. The staff goes all out to do everything possible to make your stay memorable. Since then we go back every year to celebrate our anniversary in May and usually another weekend during the year just to have a mini vacation. Can't wait to go back for a long weekend in August.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

It is always so nice to hear from guests that have shared their special day at Gulf Beach Resort, especially when their families were able to share it with them. We're so glad that you've been able to return every year and celebrate your anniversary at our special place on Lido Beach. Thank you for your kind comments about your experiences at Gulf Beach Resort and we look forward to seeing you in August!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were fortunate enough to find this motel on the gorgeous Lido Key- right on the beach. We loved the rooms ( we stayed in two while we were there because we extended our stay) We loved the pool and the beach and just everything about the place. Our maid was lovely and kept our room clean and tidy and fresh. We loved our little visiter each day (you can see him on the pictures of room 209A)
We would have loved to stay longer, but had to return to dreary old England. Thanks Gulf Beach Resort for a wonderful stay.
Hope we can come back and stay longer next time .....indefinitely please. x

Room Tip: all the rooms looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 683DDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

We are so happy you found us and decided to spend your vacation at our special spot on Lido Key. Each of our staff members make every effort to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and are comfortable during their time with us. We do have a couple of "visitors" that spend time with us almost every day and it was nice that you had the chance to visit with them. We look forward to having you return to visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Bed bugs! I'm from Sarasota, and have stayed at this place for a number of years. Very nice rooms, great beach, but the quality of people staying there (ugly, loud, rude walrus, etc.) and the fact that we were bitten every night by flaming red bed bug bites, put a serious 'bite' on our vacation.
Also management could care le$$$
Thanks, but watch it!
NYC

Room Tip: 300 rooms on top are best for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to emphasize that we do NOT have bed bugs. All of our beds have protective coverings on them as well as regular inspections as preventive measures. Also, we had several families staying here at the same time that you were here and perhaps their level of activity was disruptive to you. A staff member did come out to the property between 10:00 and 11:00 p.m. during your stay and reported that there was barely any outside activity during those times. Every member of our staff goes out of their way to make each guest's stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We also encourage guests, upon check-in, to let us know if there is anything they need during their stay and we make every effort to accommodate their requests. Unfortunately, if someone does have an issue during their stay and does not report it to us until the time of departure, that does not give us the opportunity to rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Old style Motel on Lido Beach, with easy access to St Armand's Circle. Although the place and the rooms are dated, it's still a great value for a family vacation. It felt clean enough, the staff was nice, the pool is clean and well maintained, and the beach access is right there. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank usernamenottaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. Our goal is to make sure that each guest's time with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We consider our property to be unique and try to provide a different experience to staying in a chain or high-rise hotel. I hope you will return to vacation with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We first visited this resort 7 years ago just by doing a drive-by and we lucked into getting Room 319 which overlooks the beach. This stay we stayed in rooms 303, 301A, and 304. We had extra family with us and required more than one room. We were impressed with all three rooms. All were very clean and came with a well furnished kitchen. These rooms were only steps away from the beach. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. They let us check out other rooms just to see what they looked like. Our next trip we will stay in room 101 if 319 or 309 are not available. The only complaint we had which is not really a complaint is the remote for the bedroom in 301A did not work, but the livingroom remote worked both TVS so not a big deal at all. Parking is just steps from your room. The pool was sparkling clean and warm. We really love this place!

Room Tip: Room 319 is on the upper level but has big windows to look out over the beach. Room 309 is lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm so happy you discovered us 7 years ago! We are unique in that each room is differently decorated which helps us to match a guest with their needs. We strive to make each guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I'm glad that you and your family were able to enjoy our facility and we look forward to having you vacation with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We live out east in Sarasota and a couple of times a year we run away from home, get a nice little condo at Gulf Beach Motel and pretend we are on vacation. People come from all over the world to enjoy our beaches so why shouldn't we? This is one of the few beachfront condos you can rent by-the-day, which makes it even more attractive to us hard working folk who can't get away for more than a couple of days at a time. We have a couple of favorite condos that we always ask for. Friendly staff, great location, awesome beach, great rates......can't beat it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yeehawgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We always enjoy it when our local residents can take the time to come out and enjoy our beautiful beaches. I hope you will continue to visit with us and we look forward to continuing to be your home away from home....if only for a few days at a time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,670 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Address: 930 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: $136 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Beach Resort Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gulf Beach Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing