We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Gem in SRQ!”
Review of Ama La Vita

Ama La Vita
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 8/12
8:00 PM
Ranked #238 of 916 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $20 - $40
Description: Ama La Vita Ristorante, meaning "Love Life" in Italian is a dining experience. In true Southern Italian tradition Danny and Tricia are excited to welcome you to their dining room. Ama La Vita will feature exceptional Italian Mediterranean cuisine,...fresh, simple and delicious! Good food, good wine and good friends! Manga! Mangia!
Restaurant details
Description: Ama La Vita Ristorante, meaning "Love Life" in Italian is a dining experience. In true Southern Italian tradition Danny and Tricia are excited to welcome you to their dining room. Ama La Vita will feature exceptional Italian Mediterranean cuisine,...fresh, simple and delicious! Good food, good wine and good friends! Manga! Mangia!
Reviewed August 29, 2020 via mobile

Where to begin...We stopped by for date night dinner on a Friday night and fell in love with the restaurant, food and staff! Family owned and operated, Danny and Tricia are amazing hosts and even better chefs. The food was fantastic, and the service was incredible. Make sure to try the homemade rice balls! Tricia also makes amazing homemade bread! We were treated like family and can’t wait to come back!

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Whitney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2020

The food was good-thank you Danny. I was not pleased with the service. I was told that the entire table would have to order either Savor Sarasota or off of the menu which I did not think that was good.

Date of visit: June 2020
Thank Italiana-Zeebruge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 12, 2020

Found this restaurant by chance while searching the Savor Sarasota options. Truly, this spot is Sarasota's newest hidden gem! The coziness of the restaurant along with the exceptional service and food will make this my new favorite place to eat. The owners Danny and Trish have done an outstanding job in bringing authentic Italian food to a neighbor that will be sure to embrace it. Our server Lucy was amazing and friendly which always adds to a wonderful dining experience.

Date of visit: June 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kolzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 30, 2020 via mobile

We passed by AMA a week or so ago walking on main street and decided to give it a try last night. GREAT CHOICE! Our server Jay was very helpful with wine selections - allowing us to try different wines before making a choice. The salads are big enough to share and the burrata special app was wonderful. Our table had the pork chop the mahi special with lemons white wine olives and capers and the gnocchi. I wanted the mahi but really wanted to try their pepperocini sauce from their chicken pasta. The chef made my mahi with the pepperocini sauce - it was amazing! Very accommodating and friendly owners and don’t miss Trish’s Coconut Cake!

Date of visit: May 2020
Thank lynnk668
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 10, 2020

New York, New Jersey, Boston, Chicago.... This New restaurant in Sarasota in gonna make some waves in Florida!!! The owners Danny and Trish from Jersey shores have relocated to Sarasota and bring their culinary skills to a great new location. Antipasta appitizers of house salads, Ceaser salas with shrimp or chicken, housemade meatballs with ricotta were all excellently done and served........Main courses of large Scallops with risotto..Excellent...The best chicken scarpiella with sausage with linguine as requested was unbelieveable with fresh garlic, spices. olive oil and marinara sauce was as good as I ever had.....Wine list very good and affordable...Folks, this is the tip of the Iceberg for these new owners!! Danny is the chef and Trish is the Hostess.......Don't miss this spot on main st, downtown on MAIN ST...... 5 stars on food, ambiance and waitstaff, Lucie is a terrific waitress with great bar help......You will be greatly rewarded with a fine meal..

Date of visit: May 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hoopspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Ama La Vita also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ama La Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.