We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation surprise”

Island Gluten Free Bakery
Ranked #9 of 28 Bakeries in Sarasota
Price range: $2 - $35
Description: A wonderful little bakery/cafe run by 3 ladies- Karen, Vickie and Kim. It's a dedicated gluten free facility and they make delicious gluten free bread, scones, muffins, cakes etc and sell it in they're cafe along with great coffee! Also serving sandwiches, subs and pizza on their fresh baked breads/crust from 10am to 2pm. Just off Siesta Key in Sarasota Fl. Wonderful find for Coeliacs.
Restaurant details
Description: A wonderful little bakery/cafe run by 3 ladies- Karen, Vickie and Kim. It's a dedicated gluten free facility and they make delicious gluten free bread, scones, muffins, cakes etc and sell it in they're cafe along with great coffee! Also serving sandwiches, subs and pizza on their fresh baked breads/crust from 10am to 2pm. Just off Siesta Key in Sarasota Fl. Wonderful find for Coeliacs.
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

The Delicious pastries were a wonderful surprise while on vacation in Siesta Key !! I highly recommend the cinnamon roll! They have figured out how to do gluten free the right way! Thank you!

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Spinmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2018

My wife and I came across their Farmer's Market stand in Venice on a very popular Saturday morning in late January. The bakery owner's parents were at the booth and were very easy to talk to.

My wife was delighted to see the selection of GF items and after lots of consideration, we settled on 2 - 8" pizza crusts costing $8.50. It is a premium price point and we were delighted to try it.

Planning on having Pizza for dinner on Tuesday night, 2.5 days from purchasing pizza rounds from Island, i picked up the unopened bag and saw that it was moldy, green and red mold, growing all over the crusts.

Needless to say, we were both rather disappointed.

The following evening, i emailed the address on their Website.

Kim wrote
"Yes, everything must be frozen this is why we put it on the label, we do not use preservatives chemicals additives or stabilizers.
Our motto is always eat it or freeze it.
The pizza crust work very well from the frozen stage no need to thaw to make your pizza.
All the items are made fresh daily and any leftovers are immediately frozen here at the bakery, all the market stuff is fresh.
Sorry for the inconvenience, we strive to make things healthy but they lack shelf life."

I wrote back,

"Yes, it is on the label, printed in the smallest text. Please ask your parents to mention that to customers when they purchase.

Did i miss the place where we were going to make this right? $8.50 for mold in three days doesn’t give US that warm fuzzy feeling."

Kim wrote back
"I apologize again Noah, our parents do their best to remind people of the care instructions, they may have been busy and neglected this time , but they do understand-stand our products."

If you decide to purchase from Island, FREEZE their product or eat it within hours of purchase.

If you decide to wait a few hours, you might have to throw it away.

I was glad that we donated $8.50 to them and that they don't stand behind the product, but will stand behind your trashcan with a smile and a wave, bye-bye.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Njfantastico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

My family has enjoyed several items from here. My favorite is the GF key lime pie.

They are very kind and accommodating. They didn’t have any individual slices of KL pie out but the woman went in back and cut a piece for me.

It’s a dedicated GF bakery, so it’s safe even for celiac. There are also vegan options.

It’s pretty pricey. Worth it if you require GF food and really want something good.

We stop here every time we come to Siesta Key. Love it!

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank Tricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

The cinnamon bun with a side of cinnamon butter cream was amazing. It was really warm. Also had the chocolate pecan pie which was great. It’s not cheap, the bun was $4.50. They do cakes, bread, flour, pasta etc, all GF.
Definitely worthwhile if you have the allergy.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Owner at Island Gluten Free Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

We are glad you were delighted. Our products certainly are more expensive than a store bought version-we can't compete with their prices. Likewise, they can't compete with our ingredients- we use certified organic oils, sugars and use non-GMO ingredients. We appreciate your comments and thank you for taking the time to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018

Many years ago, a friend from GA vacationed in Sarasota and stumbled upon the first location of this amazing place. Obviously, I had to try it for myself so we took a chance and booked a trip to the area - that was almost a decade ago. The risk paid off in a way that hasn't been repeated since. Real tasting cinnamon bread, muffins, carrot cake, key lime pie...and later cinnamon buns and waffles to die for! Everything - and I mean everything - from this place has been amazing! Can't say that about any other bakery - gf or otherwise (pre ceeliac dx).

The bakery is completely gluten-free and creates items without some other allergens as well. If you haven't tried this place, it's worth the trip (even from Atlanta!) so do yourself a favor and check it out!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank promopro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Owner at Island Gluten Free Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Our comments are greatly appreciated. We're so glad you were able to visit us and that you appreciate what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Gluten Free Bakery also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Island Gluten Free Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing