We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gluten free bakery!”

Island Gluten Free Bakery
Ranked #5 of 25 Bakeries in Sarasota
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A wonderful little bakery/cafe run by 3 ladies- Karen, Vickie and Kim. It's a dedicated gluten free facility and they make delicious gluten free bread, scones, muffins, cakes etc and sell it in they're cafe along with great coffee! Also serving sandwiches, subs and pizza on their fresh baked breads/crust from 10am to 2pm. Just off Siesta Key in Sarasota Fl. Wonderful find for Coeliacs.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best gluten free bakery!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This bakery has some of the best gluten free bread, pizza crusts and baked goods! Prices are comparable with other gluten free bakery's but quality is the best!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paramedicma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I was really surprised”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

island Bakery needs to work on it's atmosphere. We drove 45 minutes to try this place and it was not worth it. I was thinking that something noted as voted bast bakery would be delicious. I am a baker and eating gluten free does not have to be subpar. The man was very nice that waited on us but there was not a lot to take home with us - they had been wiped out by a larger order prior to our coming in - which was fine - totally understandable. What we did taste was not the best GF I have ever had...but hey! People love it so I am happy for them that their business is succeeding. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OurGetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gluten free delight”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A great and much needed find - on holiday from the UK, and needing gluten free bread for our son, the bakery was great. Easy to find, and a good selection of products. Try out the carrot cake and cinnamon roll - all delicious!! Thank you for helpful and friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Made my wife's day”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife is gf and visiting the island bakery really made her day. We both bought a sandwich and the bread was so soft. Good range of products, the key lime pie was good.
Many thanks :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“GF eats for the whole day!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This wonderful gf only eating place offers the visitor a chance to enjoy a holiday without sacrificing eating habits. A nice selection of muffins, breads, cookies and desserts. Fresh or frozen, to enjoy there or take-away, this bakery is a hidden gem. They also provide gf items to restaurants in the area and have a list of these online.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TriniTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Gluten Free Bakery also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Island Gluten Free Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing