We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in SRQ”
Review of Dolce Italia

Dolce Italia
Ranked #7 of 1,039 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A warm welcome to Dolce Italia, celebrating our fourth anniversary. Four years ago we opened with the dream of creating a little gathering place to enjoy good food and good company. You have helped us realize our dream, and we wish to thank you by providing our very best hospitality, ambiance and flavor. We came here from Ischia, Italy to share our passion for creating wholesome Italian Cuisine from our own family traditions. In return, you made us feel like a part of a big happy family here, so we don't miss our Ischia so much. My father created the sculpture of the enchanted Castle Aragonese on our wall to remind us of the beautiful place we were born and raised. Over the last four years, our dreams have come true. We remember each of our customers with fondness, we enjoy every evening that you spend with us, and we feel very lucky to have such a wonderful family of patrons. "La Nostra Casa e la Vostra Casa" (Our Home is your Home) Tiziana & Filippo & Dolce Italia Family
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the Best in SRQ”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is really a terrific Italian Restaurant. The owners greeted us at the door and seated us immediately. They are from the Isle of Ishcia, off the Naples coast.
The menu is limited to the usual italian dishes but they had a half dozen specials, each of which sounded outstanding. The owner described the specials for us in a wonderful Italian accent.
Each of the four of us ordered a different special and as expected they were excellent.
Definitely a keeper.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buncrana_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    77
    37
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice family run restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had dinner on a Monday evening. The restaurant is family owned and run. The menu was limited with a number of specials. Everything was delicious. The owners came around to the tables to talk to the customers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian!!! Simply Amazing!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Where can you go and chat with the chef?? Here! Wonderful atmosphere and people!! The gnocchi was SUPERB! The tiramisu was fantastic!! Small, yet comfortable! Here on our honeymoon and we will come back from NH and make sure we come back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsRank19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Best Italian Meal We've Eaten Out”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We ate here last week on a Monday night. We were greeted by the owners, Pippo and Tiziana. They made us feel at home. We order an Antipasto for an appetizer. It was delicious and fresh. My husband had linguine with seafood. It was seasoned perfectly. I had green tagliatelle pasta with carbonara sauce with pancetta. It was delicious as well. We loved our meal so much that we came back on our last night in Siesta Key. Again, we received a warm welcome from the owners, who remembered us from earlier in the week. I had the veal gorgonzola with soft palenta. My husband had veal piccata with a side of pasta. We were both raving about our entrees. My husband said it was the best pasta sauce he ever had. We then split a tiramisu for dessert. It was the best ever. This restaurant is a definite keeper when we return next October.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanK815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A bit pricey!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have been there several times. When I first went about a year ago, I thought it was good and a good value. However, I recently went and found it expensive.....I say expensive because it is NOT artistic gourmet food, it is good peasant food with a hefty price on it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palmetto36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Italia also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dolce Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing