We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, GREAT FOOD!”
Review of Oh Mamma Mia

Oh Mamma Mia
Ranked #272 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place, GREAT FOOD!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Even though they where very busy, they accommodated for us, gave us a place at the bar, served us complimentary Prosecco and bread with tomatoes... This place serves REAL authentic Italian food like my family used to cook at home when I was a kid. Loved it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gmarguglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    29
    19
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I love this restaurant!! Giuseppe is an excellent chef and the food is delicious!!! We love the lasagna, the mushroom risotto (to die for!), the veal milanese and the prosciutto and mozzarella. You really have to try this restaurant!!! Authentic Italian food! Mmmmmm!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful dining experience!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I had a delightful dinner at Oh Mamma Mia. We waited too long to call for reservations on a Friday night and so we were given the choice to eat at the counter. It turned out to be really fun!
Sitting there we got to watch the Chef cook and prepare meals and interact with us. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about wines and could suggest a good one for us. He also knew the menu items very well and could offer suggestions. Hubby had a linguine and seafood dish that he said was so delicious. I had bowtie pasta with artichoke hearts off the "light" menu. It was very good too.
Our meals came with a salad (or soup) and ciabatta bread. We were also given a glass of white wine or maybe it was a liquer(?) before our meal.
All in all, we can't wait to go back and try some more menu items. The restaurant is very small and cozy although they are going to expand sometime this year. Prices are in the $18-23 dollar range with a few higher. Portions are a good size, we both took some home to have for tasty leftovers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but a long wait”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Driving through Gulf Gate on our way to another restaurant, we noticed that the usually packed parking lot in front of Oh Mama Mia was pretty empty. I went in and said that I didn't have a reservation but wanted to see if they had anything available for us. I was surprised when I was told we'd have a table in 5 or 10 minutes. We have heard alot of great things about this restaurant and were told that you had to make a reservations well in advance of your visit. We were delighted to get a table on the spur of the moment. Once seated we were given a taste of Prosecco, menus and a plate of fabulous bread with marinated sliced tomatoes. We placed our order and ordered a bottle of wine from their extensive, mostly Italian wine list. The wine came right out and was very good. We both ordered entrees and chose the salad over the soup that was offered. Then we sat, and we sat and we sat. Everyone around us was being served awesome plates of food that we had watched being prepared on the video monitor, projection tv and by way of the long rectangular mirror over the kitchen area. You can see most of everything that the chef and his various assistants do and it was fascinating. I hear that they give cooking classes there too but, back to the food. After 45 minutes of waiting, we hadn't even been served our salads. Our waiter was very apologetic and mumbled something about one of the Chefs and knee surgery and being short handed. Very well, but we were the only ones not getting any food! Our waiter kept saying it would be right out but.....nothing. We kept seeing these heart shaped plates of what we found out was polenta with cheese and portabello mushrooms being made and served all around us. During one of the waiter's visits to our table to apologize for the delay, my wife asked about the polenta and the waiter happily gave us a free order to pacify us during our wait. It was delicious but we didn't eat all of it for fear of being too full to enjoy our much anticipated dinner. A half hour after eating the polenta we were finally served our salads. Now believe it or not, we weren't that upset at being and hour and a half into our dinner and just then being served our salads. Everyone was very nice, the polenta helped and the cooking show was still fascinating. Not to mention that we were trying not to finish our wine before dinner came. The waiter kept asking if we wanted another bottle of the $32.99 vintage, but we politely declined. It says on the menu that if you order a second bottle of the same wine, you get the second bottle 20% off. They offer 30% off of take out orders too. Good stuff. Anyway, after questioning the waiter on whether or not what I saw cooking in the mirror were our dinners, he checked and confirmed that yes, they were. I had ordered the Osso Bucco (veal shank) special and the wife the veal gorgonzola, which was veal loin prepared with a gorganzola cream sauce with walnuts and spinach. The Osso Bucco was served over a bed of home made egg noodles and was very good. The meat was melt in your mouth tender and had a rich and flavorful sauce. The proportion of meat to sauce/egg noodles was way off and once the meat was gone, I had very little interest in filling up on the vast amount of egg noodles and sauce that were left. At that point I didn't even want to take it home.The veal looked awesome and was. The meat was tender a cooked perfectly. The sauce rich and creamy good. The wife loved it initially but the rich sauce became overbearing and got to her after a while. I would not have the same problem after finishing what she couldn't eat! Overall, we both really enjoyed the food, wine, ambiance and cooking show very much. So much so that we'll be back when our son and daughter in law visit at the end of the month.Can't wait. It's a little bit pricey as the Osso Bucco was $30, the veal $22 and wine $32.99.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Usa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We expected more”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went as a family to Mama Mia as the restaurant was highly recommended to us. Great welcome, excellent service, and good wine were all pluses. Unfortunately, the food was a disapointment overall, as the sauces were heavy and thick, just not as fine as we expected. We have traveled a lot through Italy and love Italian food. So we were expecting more.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh Mamma Mia also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Oh Mamma Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing