We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Italian Cuisine in a Lovely Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salute

Salute
Reserve with OpenTable
Salute is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Delightful Italian Cuisine in a Lovely Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have been eating at Salute for the last few years and it offers delicious Italian meals at very reasonable prices. They even have a special limited 3 course menu for those looking for a bargain. It is a great place to go as a couple or with friends and family. It is large enough for a good sized group, and there is plenty of al fresco dining on their front patio area. The food is outstanding and the service is excellent. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    70
    28
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

On a recent visit to Sarasota we were walking around main street looking for a place to have dinner and a passerby recommended a number of places including Salute, he said that Salute had some of the best Italian food around and was more reasonably priced. They had a $20 summer special 3 course menu and everything we tried from it was great. The Calamari was done to perfection and the Bruschetta was great, for the entrees we had Agnolotti, Vitelio Marsala and grouper, all were excellent. Coffee and Tiramisu provided the perfect end to the meal. We ended up having dinner here 4 nights of our vacation and every one was great. The only down side was that they were closed on Monday. The outside terrace was very nice and the service was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim47Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

You sit outside, if you like, you can hear Mattisons music next door but not so overwhelming. You see all the people out on Main street, but off to the side. David is always our waiter, he is amazing, even saved a belt from a coat that I left for months. The mushroom bruschetta is addictive, the mushroom ravololi is my favorite, sorry for spelling. All pasta is fresh, mozzarella is fresh wine is from family vineyard and it is simply wonderful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vmessersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had dinner there in late April for Mom's birthday. The food is outstanding and service excellent. We had the rigatoni dish with seafood...too die for. I have dined here several times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris5924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Verde, Arizona
Level Contributor
134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife ordered the "special" dover sole dinner. We were shocked when the bill arrived and the charge was $38. Worse, she said that the fish was average. My veal dish was below average in that the veal was mushy and in too much sauce. Our total bill was $80 including one glass of wine plus tip, far exceeding its value. If you are seated on the patio, beware that loud music starts at 7:30 at the restaurant next door.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salute also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Salute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing