We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure in dining”
Review of Owen's Fish Camp

Owen's Fish Camp
Ranked #17 of 1,046 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Adventure in dining”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Drove over from St. Pete to eat dinner - my wife saw some good reviews posted so had to check this place out. Ordered the snapper - tasted great - though pricey ($29). The cole slaw was good, as were the fish tacos my wife ordered - didn't care much for the red beans & sausage. Server was friendly, though she didn't keep our water glasses filled promptly at first after our meal was served, which was disappointing because the food was a bit on the spicy side. She made up for it though by keeping them full after that which really helped. Loved the surroundings & atmosphere, worth the drive if you have the time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    944
    429
    125
    51
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota FL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It just never disappoints ...”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Gumbo sea food jambalaya my choice "exquisite", corn crusted catfish my partners choice, both very down to earth recipe's of just plain good food. The service goes right along with the fun atmosphere which just engulfs you from the moment you step in to this place. You just cannot go wrong here and it want break the bank either. Casual dress always welcome too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fascinating down-home fish camp environment in downtown Sarasota next to Burns Court Cinema”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

You have to take a good look around Owen's Fish Camp as there is an amazing array of flotsam and jetsam decorating this casual dining and drinking hotspot. VERY crowded sometimes around the "cocktail hour", you may end up waiting for a table or spot at the bar in the charmingly Floridian back yard, but there's lots to look at there too. I'd say it's more of a "happening" place than a gourmet experience, but the raw oysters we had were divine, oysters rockefeller not so great (overcoooked oysters were like little chewy pellets underneath the soso toppings). But I had my first UFO beer there and really liked it (and I'm not the beer enthusiast in our family, but my husband enjoyed the selections). The homey atmosphere is comfortable, and apparently the rest of the menu has appeal because it is usually VERY busy at this pub/restaurant, so you might want to check it out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anniemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but wouldn't go back.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Raised in Florida and have eaten in some of the best fish restaurants...but this one did not impress. Unique atmosphere...very well done, but no AC (fans inside and outside seating only)
but that didn't faze me. Location in downtown Sarasota with the shops, so very good local. I ordered the cornmeal catfish which was a good portion and good piece of meat but oilier than I prefer. Cheese grits and collards were great, but I don't go to a seafood restaurant for the sides. Wish I would have ordered the fried green tomato salad instead. My husband ordered the fried basket with shrimp, very good; oyster, very good; crab, too salty; grouper, ok. Fries were good...coleslaw came in an itty bitty lil' cup and per his words, awful. Must be why the portion is small. Glass of wine, over priced. Just OK, wouldn't recommend or go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilcracker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Original, mixed review”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We showed up around 6:30 on a Tuesday and were seated right away. As mentioned earlier the parking is a challenge. We had to park around the corner but within 2 minute walk.
The restaurant is set up to look old and worn looking. They purposely try to put unmatched glasses on each table. I guess that is the mood they are going for.
Our waiter was good an we received our food super quick. I had the fish and chips, which were excellent and my wife had the scallops which were below average. They needed to be cooked another minute she thought. Based on my meal I would go back, based on my wife's, she wouldn't return.
We decided that we could recommend it as a better lunch place than a dinner place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owen's Fish Camp also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Owen's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing