We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca d'Zan Mansion

Ca d'Zan Mansion
Ranked #3 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Anna Maria, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Ringlings were quirky and they built an interesting house. The location is beyond compare, and the gardens are lovely. If you are going to the art museum, make a point of visiting this mansion from a long lost era.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craicshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,209
    322
    46
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“~~~Breathtaking~~~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you love history, you will love this house. The architecture is absolutely incredible. Be sure to look up at all the flowers, etc. on the outside of the house. This house is pink and has beautiful windows. My family and I come here every year and today when I visited when I went into the secret garden where the family is buried, they actually had the gate open for the first time around the gravesites. The grounds keeper said they just started doing this last week so I was so excited to go inside and photograph. If you want to enjoy a quiet afternoon, take a good book and sit under the banyan trees. So peaceful and it's as if you take a step back in time. I would highly recommend this house as well as the Ringling Museum of Art and also the Ringling Bros. Circus Museum which is all on-site and close together. Be sure to have lunch at the Banyan Cafe.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank blackbearamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour, not too long.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We always take out of town guests here to take the tour of the Ringling Mansion. We opted for the guided tour of both floors, which is an extra $5 over the cost of admission to the complex.

In the past, I thought the tour was a little long and detailed. Not this time. It lasted a half an hour and the guide covered the highlights quite quite well.

An advantage is that all the people who have contact with the public are volunteers, and retirees. They have manners and are uniformly pleasant and informed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank shipmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Ontario
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I love all things of that period even gothic.It was just amazing the first time we visited this at least twenty years ago, to see the eccess that money affords one. You see gold fixtures and some things that I would call gaudy but a very nice place to visit. Make sure you sit out on the terrace by the water!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Ca d'Zan is one the best house i ever visited around the world. The $ 20 charge is totally valuable. By visiting the entire floor, you can easily imagine their life is these times. The guide we get was very pleasant. I would pay at time capsule to be back in the 20's and spend one of there big party!! I definitely recommend Ca d'Zan if you stop by Sarasota, but check the clock, we spend too much time visiting the mansion, we did not get time to do the museum. Next time, definitely.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank savoisurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca d'Zan Mansion also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ca d'Zan Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing