We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sarasota

“A MUST when in Sarasota!”

El Melvin Cocina Mexicana
Ranked #508 of 1,121 Restaurants in Sarasota
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We went there last Thursday night! The food was amazing as well as the entertainment and atmosphere! Definitely will be going back just to eat my way through the menu! You won’t be disappointed!!
Keep up the good work Mitch Matt and Staff

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank cynthiamichellea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 21 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Very good fish tacos and a friendly bartender. We heard we missed a very busy lunch crowd on a margarita Monday. The bartender gave great suggestions and was very welcoming. We will definitely be back to try the rest of the menu. He also made a great drink. The place looks nice and is in a good location for gallery hopping.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Islandbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Stopped in El Melvin last night. This was our first time since they reopened after the name change and remodel. The restaurant is so much cleaner looking now compared to the previous restaurant Two Senoritas. The food has changed as well. We came in during happy hour and took advantage of their taco sampler for $8. Four different tacos on the plate and the were all very very good. The fried pork fat taco has to be the best taco I have ever had. Wait staff is friendly and some employees stayed on to work for the new owner. We met him as well, and he is a genuinely nice guy that loves his restaurant as well!

We definitely will be back!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank toddw528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Absolutely delicious tacos; favorite pork!Authentic Mexican meets upscale surf atmosphere & the chips & salsa unsurpassed in the area! Beautiful bar & the founder’s grandson gave us a brief history of the restaurant!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 464taraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

Love this place! Awesome happy hour, great vibes. The decor sets a really nice ambiance. The margaritas are amazing, and the avocado fries are totally unique and delicious. Great pork belly tacos. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Melvin Cocina Mexicana also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Melvin Cocina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing