We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peruvian Fun, Fine Food and Friendly Atmosphere”
Review of Peruvian Grill

Peruvian Grill
Ranked #229 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional and Authentic Peruvian Dishes.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peruvian Fun, Fine Food and Friendly Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Three women, including my wife, enjoyed dinner last night at this warm, engaging and cozy restaurant in a strip mall on Beneva, sandwiched between two bars and a tobacco shop, in Sarasota.

The limited menu features standard Peruvian highlights. We were limited in our order because two can only eat so much. So we shared the Seafood Chowder, chock-a-block with mussels, calamari, shrimp, and fish in an absolutely fabulous broth -- redolent of the sea, packed with incredible flavors, and easily shared by two.

The must have dinner choice, and we only had one, was Jalea, a marvel of crisply fried seafood and fish (even the mussels were breaded and fried), that was so large we shared it with the table of ten extravagantly dining on what looked like everything else on the menu.

(Our bottle of Chardonnay, bargain priced at $24, melded well with the meal, setting off the chowder and highlighting the jalea, tempering the fried-ness of the dish.)

At the end, pictures and rounds of Happy Birthday resonated of the walls of this must-go-to Peruvian restaurant in Sarasota.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoingtoSiestaKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Abundant Servings & Excellent Service”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

One of several Peruvian restaurants in Sarasota, and arguably, the best. Small, almost cozy, with an agreeable and efficient staff. There is substantial variety and as said, huge servings, so big that you are invited to take uneaten portions home. I only had the seafood this trip, starting with Ceviche and then Jalea, heaping portions of fried fish and (mostly) calamari. Others with me had grilled tuna and other fish and were pleased. Dishes are combined with fresh salad-like veggies. We did not try the grilled meats, chicken, this trip, but would next time. This is a great restaurant for people with big appetites, and prices are reasonable, considering the quantities. The Ceviche was excellent and fresh, and my only criticism, if you want to call it that, is that it would have been even better if it had been marinated a little longer. Authenticity is unquestioned and the fish were well-selected. We’ll go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Total Disappointment.....”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are peruvians living in Tampa for the last 20 years, and of course, we know our food.
We decided to try a new place so we drove all the way to Sarasota.
The waitress spent a lot of her time just checking her cell phone. The "chicha morada" was fermented and when I mentioned that to the waitress she said that she had to try it before agreeing with us, and so she did try that nasty drink and came back to take out all the 3 glasses from our table.
The "ceviche" had no flavor, my "jalea" was way over cooked and the main flavor was the, probably, never changed frying oil. The "lomo saltado" (such a simple dish), was absolutely flavorless.
We spent about $60 and they added the 18% of gratuity. When I asked the waitress "why she added the 18%" (it was only my toddler, my husband and myself), she mentioned that after spending over $50, it didn't matter how many people were at the table, and that the 18% was going to be added.

We are NOT planning on ever going back AND we are going to let our friends and family know about this horrible experience......

This place is so NOT WORTH IT.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb_TPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our first experience with Peruvian cuisine but it will not be our last. We were a party of four and ordered the chicken cilantro soup, and four different main dishes. The soup was excellent and the bowl was huge, shared by all four of us. We ordered two Corvina fish dishes, a chicken dish and a beef dish. All were large in both portion size and flavor. Our server was very helpful in describing the menu choices. We also enjoyed the complimentary fried corn and jalapeno sauce. Delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Took some friends there for some Peruvian food, everything we tryed was excellent. Fish ceviche, shrimp ceviche and I order the arroz con mariscos( Paella) was very very good, thank u. We'll b back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jav78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peruvian Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Peruvian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing