We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal, good wine, good service”
Review of Tango Steakhouse & Sushi Bar - CLOSED

Tango Steakhouse & Sushi Bar
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Ringling
Transit: SCAT, Ritz Carlton Shuttle
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good meal, good wine, good service”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have to admit I was really scared when I read TA reviews... We bought the Living Social as well, so it was, either forego $20 or try this place. We decided to give it a shot after all. I have to say, regardless of the bad reviews, the meal was very good. We had the beet mandarin salad, chimichuri steak and house chardonnay and cab. Wine was very good and smooth, recommend it. The bread that came out was definitely house made and very good and warm, when we got it. The waiter (Michael) was pleasant and detailed in his meal explanations. The beet salad was good, fresh and abundant in main ingredients. Great deal. The chimichurri skirt steak was good, it was medium well to well done, which was OK, and there was no spices on the outside, but the steak was still flavorful and good. The mashed potatoes were good and the veggies were probably the only let down, as they were advertised as bok choi, brocolli and cucumber and it was mostly cucumber. So, overall, not a bad meal, not the best upscale experience we had and the restaurant will find it difficult to find a niche in the St. Armands area. The other places have a lot more rep and clientele and have upscale menus, such as Columbia, Crab and Fin, Colonne. This place will have to work with some specials and find their niche, but there is potential for sure. Enjoyable meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mali_Urke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    5
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“We should have heeded other TA reviews!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went there with a LivingSocial coupon. We noticed that there were several negative reviews on TA but that was after we had purchased the coupon. (Note: check before buying a coupon in the future!). In any case, the food was very mediocre at best. We ordered a cheeseburger with fries and the grouper sandwich. Hard to screw those up. But---- the burger was dry, tasteless and came on a cold white bun. The grouper sandwich was small and a bit better than the burger but not great. If Tango wants to stay in business with so much competition around St. Armand's Circle, they definitely have to improve or they will be history. The only good thing about our visit was the waitress. She was so upbeat and helpful, it made the bad food bearable!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Where do I start? First off, they removed sushi from the menu, even though it still advertises it on the website and was initially the reason for going there in the first place. Half the family was promised sushi and they did not get it. When we were greeted by our server, it was clear that he had just come back from a long day at the beach drinking gin. He was not walking straight, smelled horrible, and explain the specials a bit over enthusiastically. Throughout the night, things were spilt on various family members, drinks were forgotten, and orders were completely incorrect. At one point, the the cook walked out from behind the kitchen and was wearing pajamas. No manager present.

As far as the food goes, the lobster ravioli smelled and tasted old. The children's grilled cheese was literally a hamburger bun microwaved with a hardened slice of cheese in a place that boasts homemade bread, "made fresh on the premishesh, from scratch, of coarse". While making a family member's drink, he proceeded to plunged his hand into the orange jar, and then could not manage to put the orange on the glass after missing several times, and then finally smashed it on the rim.

Overall, terrible experience. Don't go there. Ever.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice – Beautiful Area”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Visiting in Sarasota…. Recommended that we go to St. Armand’s Circle out by Long Boat Key.

Walking around, shopping and taking in the sights of such a beautiful area. We were looking for a place to have a glass of wine and a bite to eat. Then we seen this place across the circle with terra cotta colored umbrellas and tables with black linen table cloths. Then we seen “Tango” on the windows. Tango had the “Look” that attracted us.

Sat outside and talked to the owner, he asked what we liked and then suggested we try an Argentine Sauvignon Blanc and Shrimp Cocktail appetizer. Excellent choice!

Talked about Argentine Tango with the owner – he showed us his dance artwork inside.

Loved this place – We will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silver-Ingot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“great food, terrific service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was our third day in town, and having tried some of the more well known restaurants on St. Armands Circle, we decided to try a nice looking place with an intriguing menu that we had seen a day earlier. Tango did not dissapoint. The meals my husband and i had were better than anything else we have had on the circle before then or since. My husband got the Steak Au Poive. it was grilled perfectly with an incredible peppercorn sauce. i had the sweet potato crusted grouper and it was just as good. everything from the meat to the vegetables, mashed potatoes, and rice was delicious. Not to mention they have the most reasonable prices for the quality of food in the area. Our server, Trevor was very funny, attentive, and gave us great service. He even personally made us the Mojito we had ordered, telling us it would be the best Mojito on the circle, and it was the best Mojito i had ever had. we left the restaurant talking about when and how soon we could return to Tango for dinner. it will be soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 76KellyS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tango Steakhouse & Sushi Bar also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing