We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent pizza in a dated decor.”
Review of Cafe Amalfi - CLOSED

Cafe Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent pizza in a dated decor.”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Lunch pizza by the slice was not bad; the pepperoni was better than the sausage. Wait staff was attentive. This place needs to move into this era: limit the menu to Italian, de-clutter. Visit some newer Italian fast casual places to get an idea. Parking is problematic; the spaces are very narrow and there is limited parking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank notawhinytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    26
    20
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Not bad for pizza.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Tried the pizza here on the way back into town. It wasn't great, but, was better than a couple of other pizza places we've tried.
Are there great pizza places in Sarasota?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelbee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great find in donwtown Sarasota”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

You can't beat Cafe Amalfi for their sub special. A full meal for $5.95. Ate here twice in 4 days and would have even had more meals there if the wife would have agreed.
Plenty of room inside. Very friendly staff.
Be sure to keep an eye out for "George" the sausage eating Egret that makes Cafe Amalfi home!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
394 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Worst food ever”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

There was no one in this resturaunt during lunch which should have been my first clue. And pest control being there should have been the second. Unfortunately I stayed and ordered! The food was terrible. A basic Italian sandwich had none of the normal meats you would expect, but my first bite pulled out a big long piece of fat! The sandwich literally made me nauseas. Big lessons: follow your instincts and read reviews in advance!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank CRMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“poor service, lots of flies, what's not to like?”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

First, the good stuff. Our meals were fairly good. 2 pasta dishes and a chicken dish, all of which were fine. Not super memorable, and not even close to the best in the downtown Sarasota area, but fine. Now, the rest. When we arrived there early one evening, the restaurant was maybe one-third full, so not overcrowded. The phone was ringing a fair amount, for what we could hear were take-out orders. A wiatress greeted us when we entered, but it took her quite a while before she came to our table---she didn't seem to be busy, she just wasn't there. The meal was okay, but she forgot to bring my pasta side dish---I would have asked for it, but I had finished my meal before we ever saw her again. Ditto for the coke I ordered---at least I had water. Before the entrees were served, we had salad with bread--also fine, not memorable; but that's when we noticed that there were numerous flies around. and they were quite bold. They didn't shoo away very easily, and several got past us and landed on our plates. We mentioned this to the waitress when she served the entrees, and she told us there was a tear in the back screen door that the flies got through, and what can you do about that? Yeah, good question! Can't do much about a tear in the screen, can you! Anyway, we ate quickly (the other reason I didn't get my pasta or coke), eating with one hand and waving our other hands practically constantly so we could get to the food before the flying hordes. Dessert was out of the question, but we drove to a very nice local frozen yogurt place for that. Downtown Sarasota has a number of very nice restaurants, inclding several good italian restaurants, but this isn't one of them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank floridatraveldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Amalfi also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing