We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Unique Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary

Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary
Ranked #7 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary provides a sanctuary "for life" for the exotic animals currently calling the sanctuary home. Our goal is to create habitats that mimic native environments and are complete with a staff that can provide daily behavioral, sensory, and manipulative enrichment which is the basis for a happy healthy animal in captivity. As we grow and open our habitat to more rescues we will provide the same excellent care while educating the public.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Very Unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I don't think my children (or I) are likely to forget this place anytime soon. We loved it. The kids got to feed a bear and a tiger. They got to see a liger (almost 900 lbs and growing.) The show was cute and very kid-friendly. We loved Chace the Chimp. Also, the petting zoo was great for my little one. This was a great addition to our trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    178
    53
    14
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Grass, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean and very helpful and happy staff, my kids loved are 3,5 and 7 years old and they all loved it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“some beautiful animals, hokey drawn out dialog on the show”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loved seeing the bears and the big cats. The up close and personal show was drawn out, corny and 40% longer than it needed to be although the animals seemed to be well trained and the real little kids seemed to be enthralled. My favorite animal was the caged 900 lb Liger, which was a pacing massive beast that you probably wouldn't risk in a ring. The animals were all well cared for and loved. I couldn't help but feeling they were basically being used in a commercial enterprize and deserved a bigger environment.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lana o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, New York
Level Contributor
261 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Magnificent creatures!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The place is small and they clearly need more money, but, it was clean (spotless, actually) and the animals were clearly healthy and well cared for. The devotion of the staff is obvious and the show with 6 big cats and the owners son was amazing and very informative. In addition there was a show with Chance (as in this place was his last chance) the Chimp; what an amazing creature! Worth every penny and a great place for adults or kids.

Brutus, the Liger (lion/tiger mix) was the biggest cat we've ever seen! Just a baby and 900 pounds and still growing! There are also bears, lemurs, a marmoset (adorable) and birds.

Get there when they open at 10 am and don't miss the show.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“too small but clean as a whistle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

loved that there was no smell and that all the animals are well cared for. they have a donation website that includes wishes for interactive toys . but still these magnificent animals deserve a larger preserve. everyone was friendly and you can see the devotion to the animals -- they need more funding!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing