We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jeff was awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MoZaic

MoZaic
Reserve with OpenTable
MoZaic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #172 of 1,029 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $36
Cuisines: International, Contemporary, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pineapple Avenue
Description: At Mozaic, we are committed to a guest-friendly cuisine that is seasonal and market driven, utilizing fruits and vegetables from local farmers and seafood from surrounding waters. Mozaic's dinner menu features an exciting variety of polished dishes ranging from starters and small plates to hearty entrees and indulgent desserts. Our new modern American small plate menu emphasizes sharing and seasonality, served with a side of Mozaic’s signature artistic flair. Our cuisine is not defined by a specific geographical area, but rather reflects a mosaic of cultures and influences. The ingredients we use are sourced locally whenever possible and are not strange or exotic, but really quite familiar and the flavors are intoxicating.
2 reviews
“Jeff was awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner there last weekend and had a fantastic experience. Jeff was our server and his personality and timeliness was outstanding. The salmon tasted great. I would certainly eat there again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    56
    51
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“below par dining experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We chose mozaic because we tend to favor local owners / chefs whenever possible and we always enjoyed the cuisine at this place, therefore our expectations were high. Unfortunately from the minute we got there things took the wrong turn. The hostess was short on being hospitable as she gave us the cold look for interrupting her facebook texting or whatever she was doing with her gadget, when finally it was time for us to deserve her attention we couldn't even understand her latin accent which she turned into a lame comment. After we were seated it took a while for our server to notice us, then it took him a longer while to get our wine. The food flavors were somewhat bland comparatively to past visits and service inferior as our waiter would just disappear and when he comes back, reeking of cigarette smoke, he would ask us in a nonchalant way about the food as if he really cares. On our way out, the self-absorbed hostess kept on sipping her wine at the bar as if we were a nuisance. Whatever happened to this restaurant, we just found the whole service offensive and callous and the food somewhat disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJR221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozaic, Owner at MoZaic, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello,

I wanted to apologize to you concerning your recent experience at Mozaic! This is certainly not the kind of dining experience that we stride hard to achieve for our guests. I assure you that I will look into this occurrence to make certain that this type of poor service does not occur again in the future.

Our apologies, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Sarasota”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are lucky enough to live across the street from Mozaic. Every time we visit, whether we go to the bar for a glass of wine or if we order a full meal, we are reminded that this is the best restaurant in Sarasota. We stopped in a few days ago for a glass of wine and an appetizer. Two talented and courteous (handsome, too!) waiters served us, Jeff and Ryan. The gave us a taste of a couple of different wines from their very good selection to help us pick what we wanted. The appetizer we chose, a Moroccan eggplant-based dish, was sophisticated and fit our wishes perfectly. The evening epitomized how we view Mozaic: Memorable and outstanding food with excellent service that goes out of its way to make sure that guests leave happy and satisfied.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGDComm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Diverse & Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Vegetarians will delight in the couscous. Other meals looked delicious and all guests were very, very happy. The better wines are a bit expensive and over priced. i.e. my favorite Pinot which I buy for $35 was $80 !! We, unfortunately, did splurge. The atmosphere is quite colorful and artistic. staff were helpful on selecting menus.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank martonewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Dining partner and I ate at this amazing restaurant again last night. We have always been amazed at the ability of Chef Dylan to blend flavors and textures to come up with dizzying delights that are off the chart. Last night was no different and we feel that this is one of the best restaurants we have ever eaten in. The flavors are created for palates that have been around. We will continue to eat there so long as we and Mozaic are around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoZaic also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to MoZaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing