We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Cause” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Save Our Seabirds

Save Our Seabirds
Ranked #29 of 130 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bird rescue, rehabilitation, and release. Birds that are not releasable are given permanent homes in our Wild Bird Learning Center, where you can see up to 250 birds of 30 different species up close and personal every day. Family Friendly Pricing of $6 for adults, $4 for children age 4 to 12. Educational tours available upon prior request. (Former site of Pelican Man Bird Sanctuary)
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I visited Save Our Seabirds with my step-grandmother and it was incredible! All the money goes to helping the birds. It's truly a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Lily24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    53
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
286 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is truly a non- profit working to save birds. I imagine many are turned off by the admission after choking up the cash at Mote. Here the admission actually goes towards funding the birds.
Inside you get up close and personal with many birds that have been injured and cannot be released. It is really cool. The place is neat and clean and I found it really fascinating.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stcloudmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a must visit attraction. Just across from the Mote Marine Laboratory it houses many seabird who simply would not survive in the wild in their current state. You are given a list of all the birds they have which tells you why they are there. It's a great thing these people are doing for these poor birds.

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rescue Sanctuary for the Birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Save Our Seabirds is a rescue for various birds that are injured. Unfortunately, I think Save Our Seabirds is often overshadowed by its neighbor, Mote Aquarium. While Mote cares for the creatures of the sea, Save Our Seabirds cares for the creatures of the air. It is a great place to go and enjoy a walk to see the owls, pelicans, sandhill cranes, gulls and other birds that are found in the wild just outside of the sanctuary. Some of the birds are permanent residents who can't return to the wild, while others are just there for rehabilitation. If you want to learn more about the birds around the area, Save Our Seabirds is a must to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“They need your help”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Thanks to these people for helping our feathered friends. For a small fee you can walk through the many different birds they are helping back to good health. Sad that some will never leave, so the money will help them live the best life we can give them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Livingood2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Save Our Seabirds also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Save Our Seabirds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing