We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Love It.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Save Our Seabirds

Save Our Seabirds
Ranked #26 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bird rescue, rehabilitation, and release. Birds that are not releasable are given permanent homes in our Wild Bird Learning Center, where you can see up to 250 birds of 30 different species up close and personal every day. Family Friendly Pricing of $6 for adults, $4 for children age 4 to 12. Educational tours available upon prior request. (Former site of Pelican Man Bird Sanctuary)
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“I Love It.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

All of the birds are so well taken care of and seem to be content with their environment. There are so many species, but I especially enjoyed seeing the owls and pelicans. It used to be free, but now they charge an admission. But it is worth every cent and I look forward to returning when the weather is a little cooler.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EdmarSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    58
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Fl
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Great Tour and an Opportunity to Support this Group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We loved the tour of their facilities. They have a wide range of native Florida birds in their habitat from seabirds to predatory birds. The staff was very friendly and answered all our questions. This is a good educational tour for both children and adults. It is also a great way to support their efforts to help these beautiful birds.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarpeDiem0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great price ($5) for the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

It was nice to see the variety of birds on display. The birds are injured in some way and unable to return to the wild. The cages are kept clean and there isn't much smell. There are informational plaques on the front of each cage. The people working there that we engaged in conversation were volunteers. There is a bird hospital on site. You will see birds with prosthetics that lost limbs in accidents with cars; a black swan with a broken neck that is healthy and a hearty eater. Overall it is a very worthwhile endeavour and worthy of support.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful habitat near Mote”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

When you visit Mote, be sure to take the time to walk over to Save Our Seabirds. The management has done an amazing job of creating beautiful habitats for the birds, many of which were ensnared by fishermen's lines and hooks, so have needed to be rescued.
When there, please donate generously! I don't know how the place manages to stay afloat, but it relies on and needs support to continue its terrific work of saving beautiful Florida birds and educating the public.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eval”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The recent construction of added facilities was very desirable. The cages & areas were very clean

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Save Our Seabirds also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Save Our Seabirds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing