We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an amazing facility...”
Review of Save Our Seabirds

Save Our Seabirds
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Wild Myakka Bike Ecotour
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Mysteries of Native Florida Hike
Ranked #27 of 144 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bird rescue, rehabilitation, and release. Birds that are not releasable are given permanent homes in our Wild Bird Learning Center, where you can see up to 250 birds of 30 different species up close and personal every day. Family Friendly Pricing of $6 for adults, $4 for children age 4 to 12. Educational tours available upon prior request. (Former site of Pelican Man Bird Sanctuary)
Midland, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such an amazing facility...”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We found Save Our Seabirds when we went to the Mote Aquarium. It is such a worthwhile facility. We got a tour when we found a bird on the beach unable to fly. They take injured birds and try to rehab them for release back into nature. If the birds are unable, they care for them. I would recommend a tour to anyone in the area.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank txtraveler223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    60
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is not a fancy zoo, but it is a great place to get close up to a wonderful variety of birds native to Florida. Educational and so nice to learn of the rescue work done by this organization....I was moved to give a donation on my way out of the facility! Nice walking on a boarded walkway and shaded from the FL sunshine. Don't miss it when visiting Mote Marine.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SunAndShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic stop for a break from the beach”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Wasn't sure what to think of this place, but decided to try it as an alternative to the aquarium since we only had about an hour or so after leaving Lido Beach. It was a fantastic experience for our family and my 2 year old son. He loves birds, especially owls, and it was great that you could get so up close to the habitats of all of these birds. I also liked the fact that there wasn't generally just 1 or 2 birds per species, but most often several birds. There was a wide variety of birds, and you get a color brochure that tells about each type of bird, often with stories about how the specific birds came to Save Our Seabirds.

Admission was only $5 for adults, and it supports a great cause.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice little place--great birds.”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

It may need a little work to keep it kept up, but it is great what they do-- and they lack funds. I and my son volunteer there when we find the time. The birds are so neat--- and they really need out help. Please try to donate if at all possible. It's all non for profit. They do a great job there!!

Helpful?
1 Thank selectivediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always A Stop For Us”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We always stop and view our feathered friends. We donate money for the not-for-profit group. Glad they are taking care of the injured.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaKoipond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Save Our Seabirds also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Save Our Seabirds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing