We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish!”
Review of Lucky Pelican

Lucky Pelican
Ranked #31 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
397 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great fish!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went with family who lives near for dinner and had a wonderful dinner of very fresh fish with great sauces. Yes it is busy in the winter and you have to either go early or wait for a table but this is a great neighborhood restaurant with friendly wait staff. We loved it so much we went back for a lunch. Next time we are in the area, we will return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    182
    51
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great English Style Fish and Chips”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We, from Canada, are very used to getting quality english style fish and chips. This restaurant is the only place in Sarasota where we were very impressed with the quality of fish and the breading. They came steaming hot and plenty off! We went back twice to have them and will go again next season. The wait time to get into this restaurant can be quite long and no reservations accepted, but they are very organized and everyone seems happy while they wait. The dining area is quite noisy, so if you are after quiet this place is not for you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice find!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Very good local restaurant. They have a robust seafood menu. I ordered the grilled cod, which was one of many fish options to choose from. The only challenge they have is that the restaurant is not that large, but they are very busy, so you will almost certainly need to wait for a table.

Helpful?
Thank Clint N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very popular seafood restaurant which was completely packed when we arrived on a Tuesday night. Instead of waiting, we took an outside table which was a bit breezy and seemed to be in a storage area but I guess that's why it was available. The outdoor seating would be great later in the season. Service was friendly and swift. Everything we had was great. Parking is plentiful. Would try it again anytime and recommend for all ages.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheWorldWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Generally, the best experiences happen when you least expect it. Just looking for a informal dining experience, we thought we'd try this place. It was one of those events where it all came together. A 45 minute wait inside drove us to find a first come seat outside on a delightful evening. The waiter was excellent. The food was outstanding. The flounder was so light we had to hold it down with a fork.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Pelican also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lucky Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing