We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful local Seafood”
Review of Lucky Pelican

Lucky Pelican
Ranked #31 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
208 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Wonderful local Seafood”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stopped by here for lunch based on Yelp reviews. On our way to Sanibel Island from Tampa Airport. Not disappointed - great place.

Server was very helpful talking about the local seafood choices, the ways to prepare - grilled vs blackened. We started with six shrimp cocktails and six Gulf raw oysters (99 cents/ea) and then half a dozen sea scallops wrapped in bacon on a bed of fried onion strings and a half a dozen fried oysters on onion strings. All were very flavorful, fresh and had great dipping sauces. Raw oysters were large, very fresh and tasted like the ocean.

Son (8 yrs old) had his usual "chicken fingers" which in this case was a nice chicken breast, slightly breaded and fried to a golden brown. Very moist, not dried out, with sweet potato fries. We shared a grilled grouper on a caesar salad and two shrimp tacos with our daughter, who was still eating the starters. Grouper was a nice large piece (2 pcs) on the usual caesar mix - though I did not see any olives. Pretty large portion that was shared among the four of us. I had two grilled shrimp tacos, with avocado, cabbage, pumpkin seeds and cilantro. Shared among the three of us, grilled shrimp were great - usually grilling overcooks shrimp to a tough consistency, but these made me think of trying them overselves while on vacation.

Restaurant was full by lunch time on a Saturday. Located behind some strip mall, in its own strip mall, strip was kind of deserted on a Saturday afternoon. Not a tourist hang-out, though I think there was an outlet mall close by. Will definitely return here on our way back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerofNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    182
    51
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extremely rude waiter”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Over the past few years, we’ve really enjoyed the great food (including the Cooper’s tuna sandwich and shrimp tacos) and adequate helpful service. I’ve recommended the Lucky Pelican to friends and taken out-of-town guests there without hesitation. However, after this evening, I will no longer be a patron of this establishment.

My husband, friend, and I all enjoyed a nice early dinner inside. Recognizing that we wanted to continue our evening with another round, we exited and confirmed with the hostess that seating outside was first come, first serve. We left our table inside because on a Saturday night recognized that there was a demand for our table and wanted to be considerate of those waiting. So, we found an empty table outside (of which there were several since it’s August!) and sat down. We expected to be greeted by a server, but none arrived after about a 10-minute wait. So, my friend got up and got two more beers from the bar and then returned to our table. We continued our evening enjoying our drinks.

After about 15 minutes, a waiter approached and notified us that we might have to leave since we had already eaten dinner. We told him that we were finishing our drinks (which if had waited on us when we were first seated would know and thusly received a tip for his service). A few moments later my husband got up to use the restroom. While he was away, the waiter approached and told us that there was demand for our table and that we would need to leave. Just about this time, my husband returned to the table. I told him not to sit down since we had just been asked to leave. He asked to see the waiter’s manager since we were paying guests, having bought dinner and drinks. The waiter objected to this since he had not been the one who served us our dinner or drinks and insisted that we were stealing his livelihood by sitting there. Things deteriorated from there ending with verbal threats from the waiter.

This waiter had an opportunity to ask if we wanted dessert or more drinks. However, instead of doing that, he forced us out quite rudely. It’s amazing to me that the management tolerates this sort behavior or possibly promotes it. Since we left without being able to see the owner/manager we won’t know, but a follow up phone call over lunch tomorrow may reveal the basis for this mistreatment. I’m sorry we won’t be returning, but cannot willingly be subjected to verbal abuse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lehcarnamreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent casual seafood restaurant”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

That was delicious. We just left the lucky pelican and we were blown away. Didn't expect too much from casual outside but what a pleasant surprise. The two of us both ordered seafood specials and they were fabulous. I had sake glazed sea bass and my fiancée enjoyed halibut. We recommend either. Our waiter Matt was great also which made our experience even better. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tzagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Casual dinning, fish resturant, inland”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The lucky pelican wouldn't be out of place by the ocean. From the outside you think 'what is this!' When you walk in you are transported to the ocean front with a great selection of fish and sea food. We have been a number of times which shows we like it! We have never yet been disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently purchased a home in Sarasota and were advised to try Luck Pelican. The first evening there we ate at the bar, the service was friendly and efficient and you felt like an old friend quickly. Most important the food, the fish is fresh and served handsomely. We had oysters (very fresh) and the dog fish (don't let the name put you off). We returned the next evening, sat at the bar again and had muscles Rockefeller as an appetizer (could be a whole meal). We'll be back again and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuscangreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Pelican also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lucky Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing