We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little local restaurant”
Review of Lucky Pelican

Lucky Pelican
Ranked #31 of 1,045 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great little local restaurant”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This restaurant is a real gem. The food is very good and the service is excellent. This is the second time I ate at this restaurant in the past 2 weeks. The place is always full and for good reason. The specials are delicious. The vegetables are cooked just right and the fish is amazing. I had the scallop special tonight and it was excellent. My Father said the fish and chips were the best ever. This place is worth the wait (20 minutes) as they dont take reservations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gardenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    185
    52
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth going out of your way.”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is a find, though from the crowds I usually encounter here it looks like a lot of people have found it. The mussels are really good. I've had both the Rockefeller and the Thai versions. And I'm not even a big fan of mussels. The atmosphere is casual. It's usally crowded and you have to wait but they have an outside area where you can wait, eat or drink. Or grab a seat at the bar or the commual table. Lots of good fresh seafood and enough presentations to please most anybody.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReadytogoPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

On a local recommend we hit this place with great anticipation. did not disappoint. hard to find parking is always a good sign but frustrating w/o reservations. Short wait at 6:45 - took longer to find parking. roast cod, fish tacos were great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tewtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedar mi
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“don't let exterior fool you!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

some of our favorite places are in "strip malls". this place does fish and seafood both very tasty and reasonable. This will be our "go to" place once we winter in lakewood ranch. we highly reccommend trying it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place for lunch!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a favorite spot for lunch. I usually order the 1/2 Lucky Pelican with Caesar and soup. Good deal for about $7. Friendly staff and good prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Pelican also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lucky Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing