We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food but Expect Long Waits”
Review of Lucky Pelican

Lucky Pelican
Ranked #35 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food but Expect Long Waits”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stopped by for dinner but wait approached an hour so decided to leave.. Returned for lunch and was seated right away. Smaller restaurant, close tables rather loud. Food took a while to arrive, nearly 30 minutes for two sandwiches, but was very good. I'd come back but be prepared for long wait times at peak periods.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndyLou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    183
    52
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great seafood, great service, great prices”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The terrific seafood was well worth the long wait for our group of 5. Everything we ordered was delicious and we had great service. Drinks were generous and reasonably priced. Atmosphere is very casual.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvzwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best fresh seafood and wonderful selection of beers”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I love going to Lucky Pelican for fresh seafood Their meals are delicious, the atmosphere casual like the Cape and portions are large to fill big apprtites or makings for a great left over lunch. It is a very popular place, so expect a wait and enjoy one of their many micro brewery beers, wine or a drink of your choice

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovinlifeeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagol, IL
Level Contributor
161 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Food is what you come here for.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is one of our favorite places for fresh seafood in Sarasota, that being said, after reading some of the negative reviews I have to agree that there are some shortcomings with the very young staff at the front end of the restaurant. The wait staff IS up to the task and we have always had fun, friendly, efficient service. The food is amazing no matter what you chose, but seafood is the star. The thing that is most impressive to me is that the front end of the restaurant is a retail seafood shop, with all types of fresh seafood, and in spite of this there is never a fishy smell here. The soups are homemade and exceptional and I do believe they have the best key lime pie around. Now, if they could get some more mature folks at the front end, or possibly educate the ones there on how to handle things better when it is busy, this restaurant would be deserving of an excellent review from me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suri22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Supurb Seafood”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife's hair stylist told us about this restaurant...so it has to be good. And Wow, it was not only good, it was fabulous. We have come to expect average seafood fare in the land of fresh seafood having been disappointed more than once, however, the Lucky Pelican is the true exception.
My wife's Chilean Sea Bass and my Red Snapper were fresh, huge portions, and presented with wonderful sauces....at great prices. The lobster and Calamri were also perfection. The atmosphere is pure Florida with close together tables and a bit of chatter since the place is packed. Our waiter was friendly and helpful. Go early to avoid crowds and to take advantage of Happy Hour. Call ahead for seating as there are no reservations. SEE YOU THERE!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Pelican also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lucky Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing