We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond wonderful!!!!!!!”

Ham Heaven & Devil Dogs
Ranked #128 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted Best Reuben in the State of Florida.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beyond wonderful!!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten at this gem of a restaurant for almost ten years and never had a bad meal. Reubens to die for. Hot dogs that rival Nathans of New York. Meat ball heros that make your mouth water. Ham and bean soup that remind me of Grandmas'. AND.....a take home menu that puts delicious food in your home freezer. I always take home three or four different soups....portions of meat balls and or sausage in Rockys family ragu.
If you have not yet tried Ham Heaven.....what are you waiting for?

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    13
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rueben Heaven”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We must have been the last to learn about Ham Heaven. I always try the reuben at every new restaurant I visit if it is offered. Ham Heaven is simply the best I have had. All the ingredients are the way a reuben should be. We will be regular customers in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tmlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“An absolute must try!!!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The food is amazing and all made from scratch. There is something on the menu for everyone, the homemade manicotti is delicious, has an Italian I'm always afraid to try pasta out in a restaurant but at ham heaven there's no need to be scared Rocky makes it just right, the filet mignon sandwich is seasoned to perfection, the cheese steaks r better then Philly, the homemade gravy is on point and the burgers are to die for!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyssa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Best Reuben Ever!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We ran into the owner Rocky as he is next door to Mr. Beery’s as we were about to have a beer. The rest is history as he assured even us German heritage Wisconsinites that his half pound Rueben was the best in Florida. Indeed it was along with the great service. Rocky prepared our Reuben which we obviously shared while we enjoyed our beer next door. The sides and soups were also excellent. This hard working man served us great food and will cause many return visits.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lherricksnewrrcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Reccommend”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very friendly atmosphere and the Food was excellent!! Definitely will be going back when we visit the Sarasota are again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ham Heaven & Devil Dogs also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ham Heaven & Devil Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing