We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandwich heaven”

Ham Heaven & Devil Dogs
Ranked #249 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Voted Best Reuben in the State of Florida.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
374 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Sandwich heaven”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The sign says "best reuben in Florida. Not sure if that is true, but I can say that is a darn good sandwich. I had the corn beef reuben. Excellent. The corned beef is thick cut, so I was worried that it would be chewey Not at all. In fact it melts in your mouth. Excellent bread, dressing, and meat. A top notch sandwich.
My wife had Rocky's (the owner favorite, the filet mignon sliders. Three good sized sliders cooked to order, with peppers and mushrooms. She said it was delicious.
Not cheap for sandwiches.............but, like the sign in the small, but very clean restaurant says "good food is not cheap, and cheap food is not good. $25 for two sandwiches..........but, I have to say, it is worth it.
And, Rocky is very charming. He will regale you of stories of New York and of his past working adventures. Very nice speaking with you.
An overall excellent experience. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    13
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sarasota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Discovery After a Number of Years”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This only proves that I lack adventure. Gulf Gate has many bars but also restaurants . HH & DD
really standout as one of the best eating places. Friendly service and great food provided by Rocky & Anna. The Reuben was the best in Sarasota; a healthy amount of meat....actually, no carnivore could ask for more. It's a small place with a large menu that reminds me of all I left in New York but hey, now I can have the sunshine and good things about Sarasota plus some of the food from the old neighborhoods. For those who need a good meal late at night, this place is open till 3:00AM!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank msroge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Fancy But Not Bad Either”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We found this on TripAdvisor and during an errand decided to try it out - although it was dinner time, we were the only one's in the small shop but Rocky greeted us and was more than pleasant. I can honestly recommend any of the hot dogs - he'll do them anyway you like. The Philly cheesesteak was OK but nothing I'd rush out for. My wife LOVED the split pea and ham soup - I'd return to try some of his other items - he's known for his Reuben's but sadly, I'm not a big fan of any reuben but I'm a big fan of corned beef so that's my next target there. Rocky seems to be a very interesting guy and more than friendly. Give it a try - we will again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Reubens and more”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The owners were delightful. They stopped us from ordering two many french fry and tater tot dishes (they are huge portions) and stopped one diner from ordering a sandwich with 1.5 pounds of meat. It's in a nice little part of town, surrounded by taverns and craft beer saloons. The Reuben my husband had was very good and portions are again, huge. I had a club sandwich, which included real ham, not slivers of processed ham, but actual pieces of ham that appeared to be hand cut. The tater tots with cheese and bacon were excellent, the tots were fried and had a good amount of cheese with bacon pieces on top.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChandraNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and service was outstanding”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Not cheap but very good food. Come hungry as the servings are massive! Was in town on vacation. Will stop in again when we are back in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YellowXterra1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ham Heaven & Devil Dogs also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ham Heaven & Devil Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing