We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Buffet for $8.99”
Review of Gateway To India - CLOSED

Gateway To India
Price range: $9 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Buffet for $8.99”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent vegetable korma, teriffic chicken tikka, best tandoori chicken in my experience, good aloo pakora, didn't try the carrot halva, liked the spicy cabbage, and drank the tikka sause as a wonderfully creamy tomato soup for dessert. Vegetable biryani and jasmine rice also. Would like slightly more viscous tamarind, very good onion chutney, as well. A nice find, with enough for lunch to pass on dinner. As for service, serve yourself buffet. But was offered refills on bread and drink, table was cleared quickly and quietly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoingtoSiestaKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    41
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service, and atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the curries, soup, naan, wine and desert. The staff were attentive, friendly, and informative. I will return to this establishment!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Sarasota_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch buffet!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were actually in the Hillview area to meet friends for lunch at Chutney's next door, but they weren't open for some reason. In any case, we decided to pop into this place and try the buffet, which was great and reasonably priced and had lots of things for vegetarians as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank D_Hope7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food - Cozy Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Tried Gateway last night. Had the chicken tikki masala, 2 vegetarian dishes, mango chutney, rice pudding & naan. All were EXCELLENT. Also, tried the house Merlot - LOVED it! Service was very good. Everyone was nice, pleasant & attentive. Place is alittle small - but cozy and decorated very nicely & ethnic. My only negative is we ordered 2 of the dishes "medium" and one was definitely "hot" not medium. As it was a bit too spicy for us, but the flavor was great. I will be back as we had a good experience. The chicken tikki masala is the BEST we've ever had!!!! :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marykatesmom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We love Indian food and think this is a very good Indian restaurant. One of the best we have found in Florida. We just wish it were nearer where we stay in Englewood so that we could go more often, The lunch buffet is good value and has an excellent choice. The staff are very friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshirePandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway To India also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing